CPS 273: Teaching & Learning Machine Ethics
Databases
The following databases are used most often by students studying Public Health. Use them to search for high-quality research related to your topic. Consider starting with PubMed or the Science Citation Index.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowAn index and full text database featuring subjects such as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Indexing from 1984 to present, full text from 1995 to present. - JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Medline (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Provides access to over 12 million citations back to 1950 in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database which includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Publications from the 1950s to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed, publisher sites, and an F&M Full Text button that links to our other online resources.
- Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of science and technology. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
Areas of Interest and Ethical Concerns
- AI/ML
- Robotics
- User Interfaces
- Accessibility
Topic Description
This topic explores how adaptive technology is designed and developed to enhance access for people with disabilities. There is a particular interest in brain-computer interfaces. There are multiple applications meant to support individuals with cognitive differences or mobility needs. Possible topics include:
- Accessibility on the internet, including a breakdown of its development, etc.
- Accessibility-related design for Google (e.g., text-to-speech screen readers, etc.)
- 3D Printers for prosthetics
- Brain-computer interface as assistive technology for different disability populations, including Deaf, Blind, and cognitively disabled individuals.
Course Description
Disability is a fundamental component of human diversity. We possess auditory and visual capacities in varying degrees, our minds process information differently, and we adapt to environmental barriers in various manners. Due to illness, accidents, or aging, we undergo numerous types of temporary or permanent disability over the course of our lives. However, disability is not merely an embodied condition, it is also an experience shaped by social categories such as class, race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, and able-bodiedness. How can we, then, define disability in a more stable sense? Which bodily and mental differences are considered inconsequential? Which are stigmatized? This course explores how we value some bodies and minds and devalue others, as well as how we embrace or resist notions of “normal” behavior, fitness, and appearance.