CPS 273: Teaching & Learning Machine Ethics
Databases
The following databases are used most often by students studying English and Education topics. Use them to search for high-quality research related to your topic. Consider starting with the Education Full Text to learn more about creative writing instruction. This course in particular may benefit from non-scholarly sources and personal experiences, however.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 400 domestic and international English-language periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding. Covers 1984 to the present.
- ERIC/Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields that combines citations of sponsored reports and over 1000 journals. The ERIC database is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education. Covers 1966 to the present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to the F&M Library here.
- Higher Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCompilation of abstracts of journal articles pertaining to college students, faculty, administrators, and related topics in higher education. Covers 1965 to 2021.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from English-language magazines and academic journals in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Covers 1907 to 1984.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
Areas of Interest and Ethical Concerns
- AI/ML
- Human Labor (e.g., replacement of human labor, hidden laborers)
- Accountability and responsibility
- Quality of Artistic Work
Topic Description
Students will learn about the ways that AI can support their creative work and the ways that relying on AI might hinder their creative work. Students may reflect on how AI relates to some of the practical and meta issues, from writing exercises to the nature of human experience.
Course Description
This course is designed to provide you with an introduction to contemporary modes of writing poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction; toward that end, we will conduct regular writing exercises, workshops, and discussions of course readings. On a deeper level, we will ask questions about the nature of human experience, about what it means to be a person living among other people, and about what happens to reality when we put our stories into words. This course is premised upon the idea that we constitute ourselves largely through our words—that is to say, we know the world through the words we use to describe it. The act of writing is, thus, a matter of shaping our worlds.