Data Points by Nathan YauA fresh look at visualization from the author of Visualize This Whether it's statistical charts, geographic maps, or the snappy graphical statistics you see on your favorite news sites, the art of data graphics or visualization is fast becoming a movement of its own. In Data Points: Visualization That Means Something, author Nathan Yau presents an intriguing complement to his bestseller Visualize This, this time focusing on the graphics side of data analysis. Using examples from art, design, business, statistics, cartography, and online media, he explores both standard-and not so standard-concepts and ideas about illustrating data. Shares intriguing ideas from Nathan Yau, author of Visualize This and creator of flowingdata.com, with over 66,000 subscribers Focuses on visualization, data graphics that help viewers see trends and patterns they might not otherwise see in a table Includes examples from the author's own illustrations, as well as from professionals in statistics, art, design, business, computer science, cartography, and more Examines standard rules across all visualization applications, then explores when and where you can break those rules Create visualizations that register at all levels, with Data Points: Visualization That Means Something.
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Foundations of data visualizationThis is the first book that focuses entirely on the fundamental questions in visualization. Unlike other existing books in the field, it contains discussions that go far beyond individual visual representations and individual visualization algorithms. It offers a collection of investigative discourses that probe these questions from different perspectives, including concepts that help frame these questions and their potential answers, mathematical methods that underpin the scientific reasoning of these questions, empirical methods that facilitate the validation and falsification of potential answers, and case studies that stimulate hypotheses about potential answers while providing practical evidence for such hypotheses. Readers are not instructed to follow a specific theory, but their attention is brought to a broad range of schools of thoughts and different ways of investigating fundamental questions. As such, the book represents the by now most significant collective effort for gathering a large collection of discourses on the foundation of data visualization. Data visualization is a relatively young scientific discipline. Over the last three decades, a large collection of computer-supported visualization techniques have been developed, and the merits and benefits of using these techniques have been evidenced by numerous applications in practice. These technical advancements have given rise to the scientific curiosity about some fundamental questions such as why and how visualization works, when it is useful or effective and when it is not, what are the primary factors affecting its usefulness and effectiveness, and so on. This book signifies timely and exciting opportunities to answer such fundamental questions by building on the wealth of knowledge and experience accumulated in developing and deploying visualization technology in practice.
Publication Date: 2020
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information by Edward R. TufteThe subject of this book is on statistical graphics, charts, tables. It deals with the theory and practice in the design of data graphics, and includes 250 illustrations of the best (and a few of the worst) statistical graphics, with detailed analysis of how to display data for precise, effective, quick analysis. Also offered is information on the design of the high-resolution displays, small multiples, editing and improving graphics, and the data-ink ratio. Time-series, relational graphics, data maps, multivariate designs, as well as detection of graphical deception: design variation vs. data variation, and sources of deception are discussed. Information on aesthetics and data graphical displays is included.
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Information Visualization by Colin WareMost designers know that yellow text presented against a blue background reads clearly and easily, but how many can explain why, and what really are the best ways to help others and ourselves clearly see key patterns in a bunch of data? When we use software, access a website, or view business or scientific graphics, our understanding is greatly enhanced or impeded by the way the information is presented. This book explores the art and science of why we see objects the way we do. Based on the science of perception and vision, the author presents the key principles at work for a wide range of applications--resulting in visualization of improved clarity, utility, and persuasiveness. The book offers practical guidelines that can be applied by anyone: interaction designers, graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers), data miners, and financial analysts. Complete update of the recognized source in industry, research, and academic for applicable guidance on information visualizing Includes the latest research and state of the art information on multimedia presentation More than 160 explicit design guidelines based on vision science A new final chapter that explains the process of visual thinking and how visualizations help us to think about problems Packed with over 400 informative full color illustrations, which are key to understanding of the subject
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
Design for Information by Isabel MeirellesThe visualization process doesn't happen in a vacuum; it is grounded in principles and methodologies of design, cognition, perception, and human-computer-interaction that are combined to one's personal knowledge and creative experiences. Design for Information critically examines other design solutions --current and historic-- helping you gain a larger understanding of how to solve specific problems. This book is designed to help you foster the development of a repertoire of existing methods and concepts to help you overcome design problems. Learn the ins and outs of data visualization with this informative book that provides you with a series of current visualization case studies. The visualizations discussed are analyzed for their design principles and methods, giving you valuable critical and analytical tools to further develop your design process. The case study format of this book is perfect for discussing the histories, theories and best practices in the field through real-world, effective visualizations. The selection represents a fraction of effective visualizations that we encounter in this burgeoning field, allowing you the opportunity to extend your study to other solutions in your specific field(s) of practice. This book is also helpful to students in other disciplines who are involved with visualizing information, such as those in the digital humanities and most of the sciences.
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Storytelling with Data by Cole Nussbaumer KnaflicDon't simply show your data--tell a story with it! Storytelling with Data teaches you the fundamentals of data visualization and how to communicate effectively with data. You'll discover the power of storytelling and the way to make data a pivotal point in your story. The lessons in this illuminative text are grounded in theory, but made accessible through numerous real-world examples--ready for immediate application to your next graph or presentation. Storytelling is not an inherent skill, especially when it comes to data visualization, and the tools at our disposal don't make it any easier. This book demonstrates how to go beyond conventional tools to reach the root of your data, and how to use your data to create an engaging, informative, compelling story. Specifically, you'll learn how to: Understand the importance of context and audience Determine the appropriate type of graph for your situation Recognize and eliminate the clutter clouding your information Direct your audience's attention to the most important parts of your data Think like a designer and utilize concepts of design in data visualization Leverage the power of storytelling to help your message resonate with your audience Together, the lessons in this book will help you turn your data into high impact visual stories that stick with your audience. Rid your world of ineffective graphs, one exploding 3D pie chart at a time. There is a story in your data--Storytelling with Data will give you the skills and power to tell it!
R Data Visualization Cookbook by Atmajitsinh GohilAbout This Book Create animated and interactive plots to help you communicate and explore data Utilize various R packages to generate graphs, manipulate data, and create beautiful presentations Learn to interpret data and tell a story using this step-by-step guide to data visualization Who This Book Is For If you are a data journalist, academician, student or freelance designer who wants to learn about data visualization, this book is for you. Basic knowledge of R programming is expected.
Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Ggplot2 by Hadley WickhamThis new edition to the classic book by ggplot2 creator Hadley Wickham highlights compatibility with knitr and RStudio. ggplot2 is a data visualization package for R that helps users create data graphics, including those that are multi-layered, with ease. With ggplot2, it's easy to: produce handsome, publication-quality plots with automatic legends created from the plot specification superimpose multiple layers (points, lines, maps, tiles, box plots) from different data sources with automatically adjusted common scales add customizable smoothers that use powerful modeling capabilities of R, such as loess, linear models, generalized additive models, and robust regression save any ggplot2 plot (or part thereof) for later modification or reuse create custom themes that capture in-house or journal style requirements and that can easily be applied to multiple plots approach a graph from a visual perspective, thinking about how each component of the data is represented on the final plot This book will be useful to everyone who has struggled with displaying data in an informative and attractive way. Some basic knowledge of R is necessary (e.g., importing data into R). ggplot2 is a mini-language specifically tailored for producing graphics, and you'll learn everything you need in the book. After reading this book you'll be able to produce graphics customized precisely for your problems, and you'll find it easy to get graphics out of your head and on to the screen or page.
Publication Date: 2016-06-08
Python Data Visualization Cookbook - Second Edition by Igor Milovanovic; Dimitry Foures; Giuseppe VettigliOver 70 recipes to get you started with popular Python libraries based on the principal concepts of data visualizationAbout This Book* Learn how to set up an optimal Python environment for data visualization* Understand how to import, clean and organize your data* Determine different approaches to data visualization and how to choose the most appropriate for your needsWho This Book Is ForIf you already know about Python programming and want to understand data, data formats, data visualization, and how to use Python to visualize data then this book is for you.What You Will Learn* Introduce yourself to the essential tooling to set up your working environment* Explore your data using the capabilities of standard Python Data Library and Panda Library* Draw your first chart and customize it* Use the most popular data visualization Python libraries* Make 3D visualizations mainly using mplot3d* Create charts with images and maps* Understand the most appropriate charts to describe your data* Know the matplotlib hidden gems* Use plot.ly to share your visualization onlineIn DetailPython Data Visualization Cookbook will progress the reader from the point of installing and setting up a Python environment for data manipulation and visualization all the way to 3D animations using Python libraries. Readers will benefit from over 60 precise and reproducible recipes that will guide the reader towards a better understanding of data concepts and the building blocks for subsequent and sometimes more advanced concepts.Python Data Visualization Cookbook starts by showing how to set up matplotlib and the related libraries that are required for most parts of the book, before moving on to discuss some of the lesser-used diagrams and charts such as Gantt Charts or Sankey diagrams. Initially it uses simple plots and charts to more advanced ones, to make it easy to understand for readers. As the readers will go through the book, they will get to know about the 3D diagrams and animations. Maps are irreplaceable for displaying geo-spatial data, so this book will also show how to build them. In the last chapter, it includes explanation on how to incorporate matplotlib into different environments, such as a writing system, LaTeX, or how to create Gantt charts using Python.Style and approachA step-by-step recipe based approach to data visualization. The topics are explained sequentially as cookbook recipes consisting of a code snippet and the resulting visualization.
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Pandas cookbook : recipes for scientific computing, time series analysis and data visualization using PythonOver 95 hands-on recipes to leverage the power of pandas for efficient scientific computation and data analysis About This Book Use the power of pandas to solve most complex scientific computing problems with ease Leverage fast, robust data structures in pandas to gain useful insights from your data Practical, easy to implement recipes for quick solutions to common problems in data using pandas Who This Book Is For This book is for data scientists, analysts and Python developers who wish to explore data analysis and scientific computing in a practical, hands-on manner. The recipes included in this book are suitable for both novice and advanced users, and contain helpful tips, tricks and caveats wherever necessary. Some understanding of pandas will be helpful, but not mandatory. What You Will Learn Master the fundamentals of pandas to quickly begin exploring any dataset Isolate any subset of data by properly selecting and querying the data Split data into independent groups before applying aggregations and transformations to each group Restructure data into tidy form to make data analysis and visualization easier Prepare real-world messy datasets for machine learning Combine and merge data from different sources through pandas SQL-like operations Utilize pandas unparalleled time series functionality Create beautiful and insightful visualizations through pandas direct hooks to Matplotlib and Seaborn In Detail This book will provide you with unique, idiomatic, and fun recipes for both fundamental and advanced data manipulation tasks with pandas. Some recipes focus on achieving a deeper understanding of basic principles, or comparing and contrasting two similar operations. Other recipes will dive deep into a particular dataset, uncovering new and unexpected insights along the way. The pandas library is massive, and it's common for frequent users to be unaware of many of its more impressive features. The official pandas documentation, while thorough, does not contain many useful examples of how to piece together multiple commands like one would do during an actual analysis. This book guides you, as if you were looking over the shoulder of an expert, through practical situations that you are highly likely to encounter. Many advanced recipes combine several different features across the pandas library to generate results.
Publication Date: 2017
Practical Python data visualization : a fast track approach to learning data visualization with PythonQuickly start programming with Python 3 for data visualization with this step-by-step, detailed guide. This book's programming-friendly approach using libraries such as leather, NumPy, Matplotlib, and Pandas will serve as a template for business and scientific visualizations. You'll begin by installing Python 3, see how to work in Jupyter notebook, and explore Leather, Python's popular data visualization charting library. You'll also be introduced to the scientific Python 3 ecosystem and work with the basics of NumPy, an integral part of that ecosystem. Later chapters are focused on various NumPy routines along with getting started with Scientific Data visualization using matplotlib. You'll review the visualization of 3D data using graphs and networks and finish up by looking at data visualization with Pandas, including the visualization of COVID-19 data sets. The code examples are tested on popular platforms like Ubuntu, Windows, and Raspberry Pi OS. With Practical Python Data Visualization you'll master the core concepts of data visualization with Pandas and the Jupyter notebook interface. What You'll Learn Review practical aspects of Python Data Visualization with programming-friendly abstractions Install Python 3 and Jupyter on multiple platforms including Windows, Raspberry Pi, and Ubuntu Visualize COVID-19 data sets with Pandas Who This Book Is For Data Science enthusiasts and professionals, Business analysts and managers, software engineers, data engineers.