Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
Subject-Specific Databases
This is a partial listing of some subject-specific databases to which the College Library subscribes. For more help and more complete listings of sources for the subjects below, click on the subject name, which will link you to the subject page. For a list of all available databases, consult the A to Z Database List.
- ARTstor Digital Library This link opens in a new windowMore than 1.8 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of collections around the world.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials from a variety of art publications.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowPrimary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-1880), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowDefinitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, and also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThis resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly database covering books and journals published in all major fields of philosophy since 1940.
- Religion Index (ATLA) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for religious and theological studies, providing citations for journal articles, essays, chapters, books, book reviews, etc., covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Produced by the American Theological Library Association/ATLA. Covers from 1949 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
Local & Regional Archival Resources
- F&M Archives & Special CollectionsThe ASC at F&M organizes, preserves, and promotes the written record of the college and the digital and special collections of the library. Drop in during their open hours to view the collection with the help of one of the archivists. Some records are available in DISCOVER, and you can always email archives@fandm.edu for further help.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- LancasterHistory.orgThe Lancaster Historical Society collects and preserves a wide range of materials relevant to the history of Lancaster, including letters, diaries, business records, court records, and more. Search the collection online or visit in person, just a short walk from F&M!
- Mütter Museum of The College of Physicians of PhiladelphiaAmerica’s finest museum of medical history, the Mütter Museum displays its beautifully preserved collections of anatomical specimens, models, and medical instruments in a 19th-century “cabinet museum” setting. The museum helps the public understand the mysteries and beauty of the human body and to appreciate the history of diagnosis and treatment of disease.
- Pennsylvania State ArchivesThe Pennsylvania State Archives collects, preserves and makes available for study the permanently-valuable public records of the Commonwealth, with particular attention given to the records of state government. The State Archives also collects papers of private citizens and organizations relevant to Pennsylvania history.
- The State Museum of PennsylvaniaSince its creation in 1905, The State Museum of Pennsylvania has collected, preserved, researched, and interpreted the cultural and natural history of the state.
Auction Catalogs
Auction catalogs can be tricky to find and to search, as different libraries have differing policies about what they collect, and we at F&M have not historically collected auction catalogs. While we do have a few in our collections, they are not consistently held or collected here. When searching for catalogs in discover, try both spellings of catalog - catalog and catalogue.
Links in the list below with an asterisk (*) next to them indicate that holdings may only be searchable, meaning they are not fully digitized. If you find something here, try to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Here are a few different places you can search for auction catalogs:
- Try DISCOVER first
- Search for "auction catalogs" and its variants.
- Try searching for various auction houses (like Sotheby's) under the author field.
- National Gallery of Art holdings
- Getty Provenance Index Databases -- Auction Sales Catalogues
- Fully digitized catalogues of sales in Belgium, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Scandinavia, 1650-1945.
- Search in "American Art Auction Catalogues, 1785-1942..."
And as always, if you're having difficulty finding catalogs, please meet with Anna for further help.