CNX 121: Storytelling
- Library
- LibGuides
- CNX 121: Storytelling
- College Library Resources
The Research Process
For a more in-depth look at diving into the Research Process, visit this guide!
DISCOVER: The Library Catalog
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for Books via DISCOVER
If you find a print book in DISCOVER to which we do not have immediate access, click on the button in DISCOVER to request the book from another library.
|
Request from Libraries Worldwide Request from |
Scholarly Articles
As an F&M student studying remotely, you should have access to all of our scholarly article databases, from JSTOR to Academic Search Complete and more.
If, during your research, you come across an article that we don't have at F&M, please remember that you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for it, at https://library.fandm.edu/ill.
Here are a few resources that you may find helpful in completing your work for Professor Stachura's class:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
On-Campus Resources
Resources include:
- study rooms
- checking out materials from the collection
- study space
- Scholarly Articles & Databases
- Streaming Media
- Archives & Special Collections
- physical zine collection
- printers & computers
- and much more!
Evaluating Domains
.edu - linked to an educational institution (though this domain can host personal web pages as well.)
.org - non-profit organizations or associations
.gov - a governmental department or agency, or government officials
.com - a commercial site, online service, or a for-profit organization
.mil - U.S. military organizations
.int- international organizations
.net - networking organizations
Look for citations, or some form of verification for the information presented on a web site.
The name and address of an author of a web site is reassuring, though this does not necessarily guarantee authority or legitimacy.
Scholarly vs. Popular
Scholarly materials are written by and for faculty, researchers or scholars using scholarly or technical language, include full citations for sources. Scholarly items are often refereed or peer reviewed. Book reviews and editorials are not considered scholarly articles, even when found in scholarly journals.
Popular materials are often written by journalists or professional writers for a general audience using language easily understood by general readers. Popular items rarely give full citations for sources, are written for the general public, and tend to be shorter than scholarly materials.
Evaluating Information
