Many of our resources can be accessed online. For information about how to find print books in the library, please refer to this guide, "Why is a Call Number Important?"
Streaming Media: Films & Music
Using films and music and other audio or video recordings can be a great way to improve your language skills. Many of the films in our streaming databases have transcripts and captions in multiple languages.
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and more. Kanopy’s viewing platform makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across our campus and at your own convenience.
Academic Video Online delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource.
Provides educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio, complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Includes the diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World Records and CRI labels. Genres include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.
An initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music. Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections. PLEASE NOTE: not all content is open access; some content is only available through a paid subscription.
Books & Ebooks in our Collection
These are but a few of the many books and ebooks in our collection that may prove to be useful.
Borrow from a selection of popular fiction and non-fiction ebook and audiobook titles. Read online or download your borrowed titles. Compatible with Kindle, Nook, and other e-readers, as well as a variety of mobile and non-mobile devices.