Search Options
There are three primary ways to use language tools when searching:
- Changing display languages for computers & Websites
- Filtering search results by language
- Translating
If you need help adjusting your computer settings, don't forget to ask for help! Connect with ITS here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Change Display Languages on Computers & Websites
Make sure to check your computer settings to see what default or preferred languages have been selected. The screenshot above shows an example for a Mac laptop. If your only preferred language is something other than English, you may not get very many English language results in a standard search engine query unless you adjust your search settings.
Change Display Languages for Search Results in Discover
To search Discover (the library's catalog and more --first column) in a language other than English, go to "advanced" in blue in the lower right corner of the box. When you get to the advanced search screen scroll down to the very bottom of the page for language options. This will change the language of the search facets on the search results page. It will not change the language of the search results, themselves.
Filter Your Search Results By Language
To find resources in the language of your choice, limit your search results in Discover using the facets on the left. The second column below shows a small sampling of the 100+ languages accessible in print and electronic format.
How to Use Language Tools in EBSCO (From Kent State University)
How to use Language tools in Ebscohost
Changing your Interface Language:
-
All EBSCOhost databases (identified by the blue, circular EBSCOhost logo) offer the ability to change the language of the search screen. Click on the Languages link at the top of the screen and choose the language you prefer.
-
Limiting by Language` in EBSCOhost databases
-
All EBSCOhost databases offer a language option on the Advanced Search screen which allows you to search for materials in a language other than English. Be sure to scroll down on the search screen to locate the Language menu. This option will search materials available exclusively in the language you prefer and display English-language materials that have been translated to your preferred language. For more information and screenshots, read this document. How to use Language Tools in Ebscohost
-
Translating
Translating the full text of an article:
-
In EBSCOhost databases, articles in HTML format can be translated from the item screen. When you see an article with this icon:
, click on this link. You will see options for translating the article above the title of the article.
-
Most articles are in .pdf format, shown with the icon:
. For instructions on translating .pdf documents, please see pages on translation resources in this guide.
-
How to use Language Tools in EbscohostThis document explains further, using screen shots, how to use the language tools available on the databases on the Ebscohost platform.
Google it your way
Follow the suggestions in the video below to use Google most effectively when searching in multiple languages.
While this video gives a good overview of the process, please note that it was produced in 2014. Some of the navigation & settings have changed since then. Use Search Settings to find language options in Google.