5 Tips for Using Dictionaries & Thesauruses
- Don't rely on a translator to learn new English words. Look up definitions in a dictionary to make sure you use new words correctly.
- Use multiple dictionaries! Comparing different definitions will help you find the best word.
- Check the part of speech to make sure the word fits your sentence. Adjust the word form if appropriate.
- Use a thesaurus to find synonyms (words with related meanings) and antonyms (words with opposite meanings); make sure to look up definitions for words you learn through a thesaurus.
- Try to find out if a word is informal, slang, old-fashioned, or inappropriate, to make sure the word you choose suits the tone of your writing.
Find More
In addition to the resources identified on this page, there are many more in both library buildings or online. Just Ask!
Dictionaries
- OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Access is provided by the College Libary.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-language resource offers completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, as well as unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
- Oxford Dictionary of English IdiomsAn "idiom" is a group of words established by usage as having a meaning not deducible from those of the individual words. This volume takes a fresh look at the idiomatic phrases and sayings that make English the rich and intriguing language that it is. This major new edition contains entries for over 6,000 idioms, including 700 entirely new entries, based on Oxford's language monitoring and the ongoing third edition of the Oxford English Dictionary. These include a range of recently established idioms such as ‘the elephant in the corner’, ‘go figure’, ‘like a rat up a drainpipe’, ‘sex on legs’, ‘step up to the plate’, ‘too posh to push’, ‘a walk in the park’, ‘win ugly’. This edition also features a greatly increased number of cross-references, making it ideal for quick reference.
Thesauruses
In general usage, a thesaurus is a reference work that lists words grouped together according to similarity of meaning (synonyms) & opposite meaning (antonyms), in contrast to a dictionary, which provides definitions for words, and generally lists them in alphabetical order
Other Online English Dictionaries
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary
English Dictionary freely available online - Collins Online Dictionary
Freely available online
Other Online Language Dictionaries
- WordReference.com
Bilingual dictionary that offers multiple language pairs. There are also language forums on the site where users discuss idioms and questions about language.
