TDF 229: Lighting Design
- Library
- LibGuides
- TDF 229: Lighting Design
- Finding Images & Visual Research
Image Rights
Please remember as you're finding and using images from the web, that not all are free to use. For your class purposes, you can usually use a variety of images, regardless of image permissions, as your use falls under Fair Use. If you wish to publish or otherwise make publicly available your project for class, you would need to secure proper image permissions.
For more information on image permissions or questions, please contact your Research & Visual Arts Librarian, Anna.
Library Resources for Images
- Artstor Digital Library (JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new windowMore than 2 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of collections around the world. Artstor is a part of JSTOR Images.
More Resources...
There are many online image repositories that are freely available to access from anywhere, including:
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
The Smithsonian Institution Archives Collections
For more resources on finding images online, please consult the Finding Images Online Guide:
Audio Resources
- Library of Congress Folk Life CenterThe American Folklife Center provides online access to selected portions of our collections. Online content may include audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips.
- FreesoundFreesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.
- British Library SoundsListen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.