HIS/IST/GOV/RUS 319: Making Sense of Putin's Russia
- Library
- LibGuides
- HIS/IST/GOV/RUS 319: Making Sense of Putin's Russia
- Journalism and Think Tanks
Think Tank Publications
Think tanks and policy institutes are organizations that perform research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. Most think tanks are non-governmental organizations, but some are semi-autonomous agencies within government, and some are associated with particular political parties, businesses or the military.
- Harvard Think Tank SearchThis guide provided by the Harvard Kennedy School searches the websites of several leading think tanks at once.
- Open Think Tank DirectlyOTT is a searchable online directory of think tanks which can be used to help you find organizations which may be writing about your particular topic.
The links below will take you to JSTOR pages containing lists of these exemplar Think Tanks' publications:
- Aspen InstituteThe Aspen Institute has earned a reputation for gathering diverse, nonpartisan thought leaders, creatives, scholars, and members of the public to address some of the world's most complex problems.
- Brookings InstituteThe Brookings Institution is an independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, education, and publication focused on public policy issues in the areas of economics, foreign policy, and government.
- Carnegie Endowment for International PeaceFounded in 1910, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States.
- Center for Strategic and International StudiesThe CSIS conducts policy studies and strategic analyses of political, economic and security issues throughout the world, with a focus on issues concerning international relations, trade, technology, finance, energy and geostrategy.
- Council on Foreign RelationsFounded in 1921, the Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
- RAND CorporationThe RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis. RAND focuses on the issues that matter most such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more.
Independent Sources on Russia
The following news sources were identified specifically by Dr. Schrader as high-quality, independent sources of news covering Russia in-depth:
- MeduzaA Russian- and English-language independent news website, Meduza aims to fill a market niche that exists due to "a long list of forbidden topics which Russian media do not raise for various reasons—due to direct and indirect censorship"
- The Moscow TimesAn independent English-language and Russian-language online newspaper.
- openDemocrayopenDemocracy is an independent international media platform. They produce high-quality journalism which challenges power, inspires change and builds leadership among groups underrepresented in the media. NOTE: Discontinued on 12/31/2023.
- Radio Free Europe/Radio LibertyUnited States government funded media organization that broadcasts and reports news, information, and analysis to countries in Eastern Europe, Central Asia, the Caucasus, and the Middle East where it says that "the free flow of information is either banned by government authorities or not fully developed."
Long-Form Articles
Long-form journalism is a branch of journalism dedicated to longer articles with larger amounts of content. Typically, this will be between 1,000 and 20,000 words. Long-form articles often take the form of a narrative or investigation and may focus intently on a specific subject or the journalists' experiences in researching the article and may bear a stylistic resemblance to a non-fiction book. This is in contrast to traditional news articles, which are typically briefer and focus on quickly summarizing a particular occurrence.
There is no one way to search for long-form articles as a whole, but many are indexed in Library databases, including:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
You can use the links below to directly search for articles within the following publications:
- Foreign AffairsAmerican magazine of international relations and U.S. foreign policy published by the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonprofit, nonpartisan, membership organization and think tank specializing in U.S. foreign policy and international affairs. Access from 1922-present.
- Foreign PolicyAmerican news publication founded in 1970 focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. Access from 1971-present.
- The New YorkerAmerican magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. Although its reviews and events listings often focus on the cultural life of New York City, The New Yorker also produces long-form journalism and shorter articles and commentary on a variety of topics, has a wide audience outside New York, and is read internationally. Access from 2004-present.
- The New York Times MagazineA magazine included with the Sunday edition of The New York Times. It features articles longer than those typically in the newspaper and has attracted many notable contributors. Access from 1996-present.
- The NationA progressive American monthly magazine that covers political and cultural news, opinion, and analysis. Access from 1865-present.
- The AtlanticAmerican magazine that features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Access from 2007-present.
- The American ProspectAmerican political and public policy magazine dedicated to American modern liberalism and progressivism. Based in Washington, D.C., The American Prospect says it "is devoted to promoting informed discussion on public policy from a progressive perspective." Access 1992-present.
- The EconomistBritish weekly newspaper printed in magazine format and published digitally. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture. May require Interlibrary Loan.
- The New York Review of BooksA magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs. Published in New York City, it is inspired by the idea that the discussion of important books is an indispensable literary activity. Access via Interlibrary Loan.
- The London Review of BooksBritish literary magazine published bimonthly that features articles and essays on fiction and non-fiction subjects. Access via Interlibrary Loan.
- Rolling StoneAmerican monthly magazine that focuses on music, politics, and popular culture. Access 1990-present.