CNX244: Exploring WWI through Literature
- Library
- LibGuides
- CNX244: Exploring WWI through Literature
- Scholarly Sources: Primary & Secondary
Primary Sources: Posters and Diaries
- F&M World War I and II PostersThis collection consists of posters documenting American involvement of the two World Wars of the 20th century. The World War I poster collection includes several posters by major illustrators of the time such as Joseph Pennell, Howard Chandler Christy and Jessie Willcox Smith, many of which made these artists famous.
- F&M World War I Diaries CollectionCollection comprises the diaries of David A. Landis, graduate of Franklin & Marshall Academy (1914), and J. Reah Hollinger, graduate of Franklin & Marshall Academy (1913) and Franklin& Marshall College (1917). The diaries document their military service during World War I, covering the years 1918 and 1919.
Primary Sources: Historical Newspapers
For more newspapers, visit the F&M College Library Newspaper guide.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).
- Lancaster Online This link opens in a new windowOffers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click Archives, then Read Archives) on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.
Secondary Sources: Disciplinary Databases
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowDefinitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, and also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Features article (+ some book) indexing from 1955 to the present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from English-language magazines and academic journals in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Covers 1907 to 1984.
Secondary Sources: Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to the F&M Library here.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
Relevant Museum & Library Websites
- British LibrarySupported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.
- Imperial War MuseumExplore around 800,000 items that tell the story of modern war and conflict, collected by the museum since 1917.
- The Lasting Impact of WWIThe Wall Street Journal has selected 100 legacies from World War I that continue to shape our lives today.
- Library of Congress: WWIThe Library of Congress is uniquely prepared to tell the story of the United States' participation in the Great War. The Library’s unparalleled collections include posters, recordings, newspapers, sheet music, photographs, and veterans’ stories as well as publications, exhibitions, educational tools, and research guides related to World War I.
- National WWI Museum Resource DatabaseThis database includes articles, lesson plans and primary sources from the National WWI Museum and Memorial and our partners around the world, presented in collaboration with the United States World War One Centennial Commission.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsTry searching for "World War I" in the NYPL Digital Collections, which contains over 900,000 digitized items from the NYPL's collections.
- Artstor Digital Library (JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new windowMore than 2 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of collections around the world. Artstor is a part of JSTOR Images.