This guide is a starting place for those interested in pursuing antiracist work. It is not meant to be a comprehensive list of all antiracist resources and texts, and we encourage you to continue your own research and work in this area. This is only part of the College Library's plan to actively engage in antiracist work on the F&M College campus. For more, please refer to our statement below.
If there is a title, resource, talk, or something else that you feel should be on this guide, please reach out to Anna Boutin-Cooper, Research & Visual Arts Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org and Scott Vine, Director of the College Library, at email@example.com.
Many of the resources on this guide have come from other guides, which you can check out in full here:
Like this guide? Feel free to reuse and remix it all or in part, with attribution per a CC BY-NC license.
A Statement of Support and Actions
Dear F&M Community,
As bell hooks writes in Teaching to Transgress, “silence is an act of complicity.” While our country struggles with a pandemic, we again watch systemic injustices result in the deaths of our fellow human beings - George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery - the most recent in a long line of killings dating from 1619, when enslaved Africans were brought here. We were and are heartbroken by these multiple tragedies, and know that the F&M community is outraged for the victims, their families and all affected by hate. As an entity that works with our students, staff, faculty and the Lancaster community, the College Library as an organization cannot remain silent or still in the face of ongoing racialized violence and killings.
We know that many of us cannot completely understand the depth of anger, fear and anxiety felt by Black and African Americans in our College, community, state and nation. It is not enough to reiterate our commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion, or against racism. It is not enough that our strategic plan mandates that we engage thoughtfully and respectfully with the various communities of the College. We recognize that we must work actively together towards stopping future incidents of racism and violence. It is up to all of us, no matter our background, to face this where it exists. We have much to do in order to live these values, and we need to act wherever possible.
The College Library regularly offers information, content, support, spaces, events and more to our students, staff, faculty and the Lancaster community. In recent days we’ve identified additional, immediate actions our organization can take, and we invite other ideas. We are doing and will continue to do the following:
Challenge injustices when we see them. Engage thoughtfully in campus dialogues on issues of race and racist abuse.
Work towards decolonizing content we invest in - actively add to our collections by representing all in our community, and ensure we are making accessible works by Black, Indigenous, and People of Color authors.
Promote antiracist resources, support and information, including books, websites, and professional development opportunities, through our Library website and social media.
Rededicate the Archives & Special Collections to collecting the history and impact of student and alumni groups of color, through a comprehensive "Inclusive Archives Initiative."
Dedicate future summer 2020 Watch Party Wednesdays to open online screenings of films about Black and African American people.
Provide print or ebooks for campus reading groups - for example, ‘From Equity Talk to Equity Walk: Expanding Practitioner Knowledge for Racial Justice in Higher Education’ for the Provost’s direct reports group.
Initiate and facilitate a campus reading group, possibly in conjunction with other departments or groups, on racial issues.
Work with other departments and student organizations to offer topical zine making workshops this fall, helping our community express itself creatively.
Reschedule the canceled spring workshop for library employees - ‘Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at the College Library: A Workshop for Critical Engagement and Change’ - and explore future similar options.
Participate in support mechanisms (such as the Virtual Care network) whenever possible.
Discuss and contribute to collaborative work with the incoming Chief Officer for Diversity & Inclusion.
We offer all empathy and compassion to our students, employees, colleagues and neighbors, especially those feeling most pained and vulnerable. While we cannot interact in person right now, we can make progress on these and other actions as a way to come together. If you would like to offer suggestions for further actions, please reach out to me at firstname.lastname@example.org.
With respect for all members of our community,
Director of the College Library
 bell hooks, Teaching to Transgress (New York, NY: Routledge, 1994), 66.
Last updated: November 24, 2020
Edited to change Archives & Special Collections initiative to new title, "Inclusive Archives Initiative."
June 25, 2020: Edited to remove reference to a specific archival collection, and instead replaced with a broader initiative titled, "F&M Communities of Color Initiative."