F&M College Library

Mifflin Family Papers

Mifflin Family

The following is a generational outline of the Mifflin family; the list includes only those members of the family for which the collection contains material. 

  1. Mifflin, George.    [Married Esther Cordry  (b. 1692 - d. 1776) 1713 Dec 18.] 
  2. Children of George and Esther Mifflin. 
    1. John Mifflin (IV) (b. 1714). 
    2. Sarah Mifflin Lewis (b. 1718).  [Married Jacob Lewis (1759 Jul 6).] 
      1. Children of John Mifflin (IV). 
        1. Mifflin, Thomas (1744-1800).  [Married Sarah Morris].  
  3. Waln, Nicholas.  [Married Sarah (               ).] (related to Mary Waln who married Charles Mifflin on 1777 Nov 2 ?)   
  4. Children of Nicholas and Sarah Waln. 
    1. Ann Waln Rawle.  [Married Samuel Rawle.] 
    2. Children of Samuel and Ann Rawle. 
      1. Mary Rawle. 
      2. Rebecca Rawle Lewis.  [Married [              ] Lewis.] 
      3. Elizabeth Rawle Deland.  [Married Thorndike Deland.] 
  5. Mifflin, Ann  (d. 1853). (Sister; daughter of Charles and Mary Mifflin (?); great grand daughter of George and Esther Mifflin.] 
    • Eliza F. Waln Clibbon.  [Married Joshua Clibbon (a native of Ireland)] (Sister; daughter of Charles and Mary Mifflin (?); great grand daughter of George and Esther Mifflin.) 
  6. Mifflin, Warner.  (Son of Daniel Mifflin?; grandson of Edward Mifflin.) 
  7. Joseph Mifflin (b. 1751 - d. 1791).  (Married Deborah Richardson 1773 Oct 6; 7  children)  (Brother; son of John Mifflin III)  
    • Jonathan Mifflin.  (Married Susanna [                   ].) (Brother; son of John Mifflin III; uncle of Lloyd Sr. and Joseph Jr.)
    • John Mifflin. (Brother; son of John Mifflin III; uncle of Lloyd Sr. and Joseph Jr.) 
    • Rebecca Mifflin Archer.  [Married Henry W. Archer.]  (Sister; daughter of John Mifflin III; aunt of Lloyd Sr. and Joseph, Jr.).  
  8. Children of Joseph and Deborah Mifflin. 
    1. Joseph Mifflin, Jr.   (Married Martha Houston 1806 Oct 5; 4 children)
    2. Lloyd Mifflin, Sr.  (b. 1786 - d. ca. 1878)  (married Hannah Hacker 1823 Mar 26) 
      1. Children of Joseph and Martha Mifflin.
        1. John Houston (1807 Feb 7 - 1888 Feb 13).  [Married Elizabeth Ann Bethel Heise (b. 1812 - d. 1855); 7 children]
        2. Deborah Ann.  (1808 Oct 5 -1834 Jan 4).   [Never married; no issue].

        3. James H.  (1810 Aug 19 - 1840).  [Never married; no issue]. 

        4. Joseph  III.  [married Julia Stewart; 6 children].
          1. Children of J. Houston and Elizabeth Ann Mifflin. 
            1. Bethel (b. 1845 - d. 1850).  [never married; no issue]. 
            2. Lloyd, Jr.  (b. 1846 - d. 1921).  [never married; no issue].
            3. Houston.  (b. 1850 - d. 1936).  [never married; no issue].
            4. James Deveaux.  (b. 1852 - d. 1913).
            5. Mary Bethel.  (b. 185? - d. 1881).  [never married; no issue]. 
            6. Charles West.  [married Jennie M. Cameron 1878 Mar 12, 1 child; married a second time [               ],  3 children]. 
          2. Children of Joseph and Julia Mifflin. 
            1. Debby Ann. 
            2. Stewart (b. 1846). 
            3. Martha Jane. 
            4. James. 
            5. Julie.  (b. 1851). 
            6. Joseph.  (b. 1852). 
          3. Children of Charles and Jennie Mifflin. 
            1. Mary Elizabeth.  (b. 1880 - d. 1891 Mar 8). 
          4. Children of Charles and [                ] Mifflin.
            1. John.
            2. Alice.
            3. Helen. 
  9. Children of Jonathan and Susanna Mifflin. 
    1. Samuel W. Mifflin. 
  10. Children of Samuel W. Mifflin. 
    1. Samuel W. Mifflin. 
    2. Thomas Mifflin. 
  11. Children of Samuel W. Mifflin.
    1. Samuel W. Mifflin. 
  12. Children of John and Hannah Mifflin. 
    1. James E. Mifflin.  (married Susan E. Houston [daughter of John Wright Houston].) 

Bethel Family

The following is a generational outline of the Bethel family; the list includes only those members of the family for which the collection contains material. 

  1. Samuel Bethel (d. 1775 Jun 30).  [married Susan Taylor.] 
  2. Children of Samuel and Susan Bethel.
    1. Samuel Bethel (d. 1819 Jul 21).  [married Sarah Hand.] 
    2. Sarah Bethel (d. 1797 Jun 13).  [married Dr. Frederick Kuhn.]  
    3. Ann Bethel (d. 1823 Jan 15). 
    4. Elizabeth Bethel (d. 1842 Feb 19). 
    5. Mary Bethel (d. 1846 Sep 6). 
    6. Susanna Bethel (d. 1852 Jan 20). 
    7. Patience Bethel.  [married Solomon Heise.] 
  3. Children of Solomon and Patience Heise. 
    1. Elizabeth Ann Bethel Heise.  [married J. Houston Mifflin (see above).]  

Houston Family

The following is a generational outline of the Houston family; the list includes only those members of the family for which the collection contains material. 

  1. John Houston (d. 1809).  [married Susanna Wright (b. 1752 - d. 1829).] 
  2. Children of John and Susanna Houston. 
    1. Martha Houston.  [married Joseph Mifflin (see above).] 
    2. John  Wright Houston.  [married Anna Rhoda Wright.]
    3. Samuel Nelson Houston.  [married Susan Strickler.]
  3. Children of John Wright and Anna Rhoda Houston. 
    1. Susan E. Houston.  [married James E. Mifflin (see above).]
  4. Children of Samuel Nelson and Susan Houston. 
    1. Henry Howard Houston (d. 1895).  [married Sallie Bonnell.]
  5. Children of Henry Howard and Sallie Houston.
    1. Samuel Frederick Houston.