CNX 144: World Cup Connections

Discovering & Accessing: Scholarly Articles

Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers 1926 to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Features scholarly business journals on the topics of marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Publications from 1886 - present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical scholarship focusing on countries other than the U.S. and Canada as the major actor(s) or site of action. Publications from 1955 - present.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Index to content from core journals in all areas of science and technology. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Index to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.

News Research (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Features a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title, usually from the 1980s to present.

When searching the News Research (Nexis Uni) databases, be sure to:

1. Include the designation "headline" in your search, and use ( ) around your search statement
2. Include a date range
3. Select Content Type: NEWS

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to the New York Times (1851-2015), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003).
This platform also has recent access to the New York Times (2008-three months ago) and Wall Street Journal (2008-three months ago).
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
An index to the most popular and important trade and general interest periodicals published in the U.S. Publications from 1983 - present.

Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.

Subjects: Connections 1 Courses