Two good ways to find resources in our collection:
Using the "Everything" tab on the Discover search box on the library homepage, search "women AND film". Search results include approximately 20,000 sources. For a more targeted search, use the Advanced Search page. Set the dropdown search index to "subject" and type the phrase, "women motion picture producers and directors". Search results include approximately 220 sources.
Looking for More?
Try these databases for targeted searches for articles & journals about women in film.
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Covers publications produced 1914 - present.
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
Varda, a pioneer of the French New Wave, has been making radical films for over half a century. Many of these are considered by scholars, filmmakers, and audiences alike, as audacious, seminal, and unforgettable. This volume considers her production as a whole, revisiting overlooked films like Mur, Murs/Documenteur (1980-81), and connecting her cinema to recent installation work. =
Notes from a Black Woman's Diary by Kathleen Collins; Danielle Evans (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3553.O47485 A6 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Relatively unknown during her life, the artist, filmmaker, and writer Kathleen Collins emerged on the literary scene in 2016 with the posthumous publication of the short story collection Whatever Happened to Interracial Love? Said Zadie Smith, "To be this good and yet to be ignored is shameful, but her rediscovery is a great piece of luck for us."
Independent Female Filmmakerscollects original and previously published essays, interviews, and manifestos from some of the most defining and groundbreaking independent female filmmakers of the last 40 years.