Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
F&M College Library

Other Special Collections

Photographs

Photograph collections held in Special Collections include miscellaneous local photographs not directly related to the College. This small collection includes individual or family collections, such as carte-de-visite albums, and photographs documenting American history and life in the United States.


Miscellaneous photographs The following entries are listed by line in this order:
Description:
Medium:
Date:
Dimensions:(inches)
Photographer:

01
Portrait Mr. John Lye 
charcoal/pastel 
ca. 1890 
14X18 oval
Syracuse Portrait 

02
Portrait John Michaels and wife 
photo of orig. 
ca. 1900 
14x12 
orig. by Eichholtz 

03 view Schuylkill Haven Coal Storage Yard 
photo on board 
ca. 1890
17x21 
unknown 

04
Teachers of Schuylkill County
collage photo on board 
dated 1872 
oval 
Geo M. Bretz 

05
portrait Rev. A. R. Horne D.D.
photographic print 
ca. 1900 
7.5 X11 
unknown 

08
portrait Unknown U.S. Army Officer
photo on board
dated 1874
20X24 
Eshman, Baltimore

09
portrait Two men with shotgun
cabinet card
ca. 1920 
4X6 
Shader and Basser, York

10
view Howard Bush and F. Clark skeet shooting
photograph 
ca. 1917
4X4 
unknown

11
group portrait Musical Ensemble
photo on board 
ca. 1880-1900
10X12 
Knipe Studio's, Lancaster

13
Interior view church sanctuary
photo on board 
ca. 1900 
12X14 
Penn Park Studio

14
group portrait unknown men and women in front of bldg.
photo on board 
dated 1906 
21X27 
unknown 

15
group portrait unknown men in front of Building 
photo on board
ca. 1915-1930
14X18 
unknown 

16
group portrait unknown men/women students in front of bldg.
photo on board 
ca. 1920
14X18 
unknown 
unknown

17
view of Yacht, "The Volunteer" 
photograph 
ca. 1920
5X7 
unknown 

18
group portrait with Chas. Steinman Foltz
photograph 
1890 
12X10 
L.S. Hazeltine 

19 
portrait Nancy Keiper
photograph 
8X10 
Ella G. Ball 

20a
group portrait West Point Cadets
photograph
1860-1870 
14X11 
G.W. Pach 

20b
group portrait West Point Cadets with cannons
photograph 
1860-1870 
14X11 
G.W. Pach

20c
group portrait West Point Cadets (2) outside of tent
photograph 
1860-1870 
14X11 
unknown

20d
group portrait West Point Cadets
photograph
1860-1870
12X10 
G.W. Pach 

20e
View from West Point
photograph 
Oct. 1878 
14X11 
G.W. Pach 

20f
group portrait West Point Cadets sitting on steps
photograph 
1860-1870 
14X11 
G.W. Pach 

20g
group portrait West Point Cadets in group huddle
photograph 
1860-1870
14X11 
G.W. Pach 

20h
interior view View of W.P. dorm
photograph 
1860-1870
14X11 
G.W. Pach

20i
group portrait West Point Cadets outside tents.
photograph 
1860-1870
14X11
G.W. Pach

21
portrait Abraham Lincoln
reproduction of Daguerreotype
ca 1845
11x14
original photographer unknown

22a&b
photographs of Dresden Art Gallery portrait paintings
carte-de-visites
ca. 1871
2.5x4"
F&O Brockmann

23
view
Miners in camp
photograph on board
ca.1880
15x20
unknown

24
portrait
S.T. Davis
photograph
ca.1900
6x9
Saylor, Lancaster

25
portrait
E.E. Kautz
photograph
1891
4x6.5


26
portrait
unknown man
photograph
ca 1920
8x10
unknown 

27
view
"Roofing the Old Barracks"
photograph
ca. 1910
12x14
unknown
 



American Civil War Photographs from the Library of Congress Collection (copies) Inventory listed with LC inventory number.

LC-B8171-7814 Washington, D.C. 1865 May. "The Long Bridge over the Potomac seen from the city." 

LC-B8171-7478 Petersburg, VA. 1864 Aug. "Military telegraph operators at headquarters." 

LC-B8171-7076 Richmond, VA. 1865 Apr. "General view." 

LC-B8171-265 Gettysburg, PA. 1863 Jul. "Dead Confederate soldiers in the 'slaughter pen' at the foot of Little Round Top." 

LC-B8171-671 Antietam, MD. 1862 Sep 17. "Battlefield on the day of battle." 

LC-B8171-2531 "Enbalming surgeon at work on soldier's body." 

LC-B8171-227 Gettysburg, PA. 1863 Jul. "Soldiers, killed on July 2, in the wheatfield near the Emmettsburg Road." 

LC-B8171-730 Massaponax Church, VA. 1864 May 21. "'Council of War' Gen. Ulysses S. Grant examining map held by Gen. George G. Meade." 

LC-B8171-3175 Petersburg, VA. 1865 Apr 3. "Dead Confederate soldier with gun." 

LC-B8171-2348 Fair Oaks, VA. 1862 May 31. "Prof. Thaddeus S. Lowe observing the battle from his balloon 'Intrepid'."

LC-B8171-490 James River, VA. 1862 Jul 9. "Sailors relaxing on deck of U.S.S. Monitor." 

LC-B8171-3403 Washington, D.C. 1865 Apr. "President Lincoln's box at Ford Theater." 

LC-B8171-673 Aquia Creek Landing, VA. 1863 Feb. "View of the Federal supply depot." 

LC-B8171-7716 Washington, D.C. 1865 Apr. "Convalescent soldiers and others outside quarters of the Sanitary Commission Home Lodge." 

LC-B8171-2700 Fort Brady, VA. 1864. "Battery of Parrott guns manned by Company C, 1st Connecticut Heavy Artillery." 

LC-B8171-310 Bull Run, VA. 1862 Mar. "Ruins of the Stone Bridge, looking upstream." 

LC-B8171-1273 Washington, D.C. 1865 Apr 19. "President Lincoln's funeral procession on Pennsylvania Avenue." 

LC-B8171-7927 Fredericksburg, VA. 1863 Mar. "View of town from east bank of the Rappahannock."

LC-B8171-3243 Richmond, VA. 1865 Apr. "Chimneys standing in the burned district." 

LC-B8171-7795 Washington, D.C. 1865 Jul 7. "The four condemned conspirators (Mrs. Surratt, Payne, Herold, Atzerodt) with officers and others on the scaffold; guards on the wall." 

LC-B8171-367 Atlanta, GA. 1864. "Boxcars with refugees at railroad depot." 

LC-B8171-7948 Antietam, MD 1862 Oct 3. "President Lincoln and Gen. George B. McClellan in the general's tent." 

LC-B8171-7907 Washington, D.C. 1865 May. "View of Pennsylvania Avenue from 9th St. with mounted officers, band, and infantry men with fixed bayonets at a halt." (Grand Review) 

LC-B8171-7930 Antietam, MD 1862 Sep. "Burnside's bridge." 

LC-B8171-277 Gettysburg, PA. 1863 Jul. "Dead Confederate soldiers in the Devil's Den'." 

 


Family and Individual Photo Collections/Albums
H. John Hiemenz (F&M 1904) Collection ( 12 photos)- Larrie Hiemenz in Havanna; Hiemenz Shoe store exterior/interior; St. Anthony's Lyceum, executive council, 1901; St. Anthony's Lyceum baseball team1901, All Lancaster Basketball Team.

Carte-de-visite Album belonging to the Cottman Family, including photographs/autographs of Robert E. Lee and John Wilkes Booth. 

Carte-de-visite Album 5"x6", published by W.S. and A. Martin, Philadelphia. ca. 1860-1880 containing 27 carte-de-visites and tintypes.

Dewey Collection of "Kiekegaard Photographs." Photo album 

Collection of 23 silent movie still photographs of Paramount Pictures films dating from 1923. Includes stills from: Brass Commandments, Truxton King, Rustle of Silk, Trail of the Lonesome Pine, Drums of Fate, Only 38, Glimpses of the Moon, Skid Proof, The Ne'er Do Well, Snow Bride, The Nth Commandment, Sixty-cents an Hour. 

Photographic scrapbook album compiled by Redmond Conyngham (Jr).? 11x 14 in. with leatherette cover, containing prints and original photographs of prominent 19th and early 20th-century Lancastrians.

Carte-de-visite photograph of a woman 4.25" x 2.5", published by Frank Saylor, 45 West King Street Lancaster, PA, ca. 1860-1880. 

Carte-de-Visite photograph of a man 4.25" x 2.5", published by Jamison & Benson, Lancaster, PA, ca. ca 1860-1880.


Cabinet Card photograph of Oscar Wilde, 1882 by N. Sarony 37 Union Sqr. N.Y.


Photographs and Postcards of Africa 1940s, donated by Ruth B. Piper, Montclair, NJ (3 folders)

Photographs of Traditional Peoples of the Belgian Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo) 1940s

              Postcards of Traditional Peoples of Central and West Africa 1940s

              Photographs and Postcards of Traditional African Peoples 1940s Documentation/ Correspondence