Sports are important in many human societies, and substantial time, effort, and money are often expended to improve athletic performance. Students in this course will investigate the physiological systems that affect speed, power, agility, accuracy, and e
To request books to which we do not have immediate access use EZBorrow.
Selected Print Books
These listed books are just an example of what you might find in the F&M collections. Best strategy is to attempt some searches in Discover, identify volumes that might be useful, review volume descriptions to refine you search, identify call number ranges that offer books for your chosen topic, then go to those call number ranges to explore what is available. Peruse table-of-contents and indices per volume to target book sections that speak to your topic.
A riveting cultural history of fitness, from Greek antiquity to the era of the “big-box gym” and beyond, exploring the ways in which human exercise and physical ideals have changed over time—and what we can learn from our past.
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology 6th Edition with Web Study Guide by Robert Weinberg; Daniel Gould
As the leading text in sport and exercise psychology, Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Sixth Edition With Web Study Guide, provides a thorough introduction to key concepts in the field. This text offers both students and new practitioners a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, drawing connections between research and practice and capturing the excitement of the world of sport and exercise.
Sex Testing by Lindsay Pieper
Call Number: GV709 .P48 2016 - Shadek-Fackenthal Library General Collection
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
In 1968, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) implemented sex testing for female athletes at that year's Games. When it became clear that testing regimes failed to delineate a sex divide, the IOC began to test for gender --a shift that allowed the organization to control the very idea of womanhood.
Game Changer by Rayvon Fouché
Call Number: GV745 .F68 2017 - Shadek-Fackenthal Library General Collection
Publication Date: 2017-06-02
We like to think of sports as elemental: strong bodies trained to overcome height, weight, distance; the thrill of earned victory or the agony of defeat in a contest decided on a level playing field. But in Game Changer, Rayvon Fouche; argues that sports have been radically shaped by an explosion of scientific and technological advances in materials, training, nutrition, and medicine dedicated to making athletes stronger and faster.
Swim, Bike, Run, Eat by Tom Holland; Amy Goodson
Call Number: GV1060.73 .H65 2014 - Shadek-Fackenthal Library General Collection
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
It's race day and you have your quick-closure running shoes, sleek suits, bikes, goggles, and watches, but if you haven't been training with the proper nutrition, you'll be left in the dust in the third mile. Enter Swim, Bike, Run--Eat to guide you from day one of training to the finish line and help your body perform at it's peak of fitness.
Exercise Physiology by William D. McArdle; Frank I. Katch; Víctor L. Katch
Call Number: QP301 .M375 2001 - Martin Library of the Sciences General Collection
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
This thoroughly revised, updated Fifth Edition textbook provides excellent coverage of exercise physiology concepts integrated with relevant scientific information. A basic foundation to understand nutrition, energy transfer and exercise training, it unites the topics of physical conditioning, sports nutrition, body composition, weight control and more.
Fatigue in Sport and Exercise by Shaun Phillips
Call Number: QP321 .P477 2015 - Martin Library of the Sciences General Collection
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Fatigue is an important concern for all athletes, sportspeople and coaches, and in clinical exercise science. There remains considerable debate about the definition of fatigue, what causes it, what its impact is during different forms of exercise, and what the best methods are to combat fatigue and improve performance.
Steroids by Rob Beamish
Call Number: RC1230 .B454 2011 - Martin Library of the Sciences General Collection
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Sports fans or not, readers will be fascinated by this revealing examination of the pressures leading to the widespread use of steroids in sport and the negative, unintended consequences of their ban. * A comprehensive history of steroid use in Olympic sport and the policy decisions related to their proscription
The Sports Gene by David Epstein
Call Number: RC1235 .E58 2013 - Martin Library of the Sciences General Collection
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
In high school, I wondered whether the Jamaican Americans who made our track team so successful might carry some special speed gene from their tiny island. In college, I ran against Kenyans, and wondered whether endurance genes might have traveled with them from East Africa. At the same time, I began to notice that a training group on my team could consist of five men who run next to one another, stride for stride, day after day, and nonetheless turn out five entirely different runners. How could this be?
Sports Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation by David Joyce (Editor); Daniel Lewindon (Editor)
Call Number: RD97 .S658 2016 - Martin Library of the Sciences General Collection
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
World-class rehabilitation of the injured athlete integrates best practice in sports medicine and physical therapy with training and conditioning techniques based on cutting-edge sports science. In this ground-breaking new book, leading sports injury and rehabilitation professionals, strength and conditioning coaches, biomechanists and sport scientists show how this integrated model works across the spectrum of athlete care.
Sports are as varied as the people who play them. We run, jump, and swim. We kick, hit, and shoot balls. We ride sleds in the snow and surf in the sea. From the Olympians of ancient Greece to today's professional athletes, from adult pickup soccer games to children's gymnastics classes, people at all levels of ability at all times and in all places have engaged in sport. What drives this phenomenon?