MUS 228: Middle Eastern Music and Culture

A collection of reference ebooks in the following subject areas: Biography, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, World Literature and Its Times.

Access point for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources.

Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. This resource includes: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition, The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Thousands of entries published in Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

More than 2 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of collections around the world. Artstor is a part of JSTOR Images.

A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.

Over 200,000 citations for music scholarship describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.

Articles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.

Features a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title.

Historical access to the New York Times (1851-2015), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003). Also features recent issues of the New York Times (2008- two months ago) and Wall Street Journal (2008- two months ago).

Articles and other text materials from a variety of art publications.

A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Covers publications produced 1914 - present.

Indexes over 200 popular U.S. general interest periodicals. Covers 1983 to the present.