Digital Humanities

F&M Archives and Special Collections has digitized portions of the collections, including material related to Franklin and Marshall College History, Pennsylvania German history, and other local history. Collections are available in F&M's digitial repository Scholars Square.

• Explore Scholars Square
• Learn more about using Scholars Square in F&M Digital Collections library guide

Contact the Digital Initiatives Librarian with any questions about using F&M digital collections.

Here are some other useful digital collections and hints about where to find rights information. Note: While these resources are listed here because they clearly indicate the copyright status of items, some of their collections include copyrighted items. Be sure to check the rights information and follow requirements for reuse.

• Europeana
  • Search collections from museums, archives, libraries, and galleries across Europe. Find the copyright status of items under "Can I Use It?"
• Flickr Commons
  • Cultural institutions share digital collections of material for which there are "no known copyright restrictions." More information here.
• Getty Open Content Program
  • The Getty makes available images in the public domain or for which it is the rights holder through its Open Content Program. More information on using items in the Open Content Program can be found here.
• Metropolitan Museum of Art Digital Collections
  • A search option allows for searching only items which are in the public domain. Under "Show Only" select "Public Domain Artworks."
• New York Public Library Digital Collections
  • A search option allows for searching only items which are in the public domain. Search keywords and select "Search only public domain materials."
• Wikimedia Commons
  • Media repository to which anyone can contribute. Search for items and click on "More Details" to find out about the permissions afforded under the license for the item.​

If you need more information about Creative Commons, take a look at the descriptions of Creative Commons licenses.