News & Newspapers at the College Library

Explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines; covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Covers 1991 to the present.

Offers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click Archives, then Read Archives) on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.

Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.

Features a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Provides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).

Over one million video news segments, with searchable abstracts. The archive includes content from ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox News, CNN, and MSNBC. Covers August 5, 1968, to the present. No current material will be made available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.

A comprehensive database of legal materials, including state and federal court cases, statutes and regulations, plus the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence (2nd edition) and the publication American Law Reports.

One-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.

Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758-1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922).

An integrated research experience that allows for seamless searching across multiple databases. Includes subject indexing and a range of cutting edge interactive tools. Users are able to search databases individually, as a group or any combination of our subscribed databases, including Archives Unbound, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples of North America, Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Asia and the West, Slavery and Antislavery: A Transnational Archive, The Sunday Times, and more.

The largest single collection of 17th & 18th century newspapers and pamphlets available from the British Library, published primarily in London.

Full text primary resource news articles provided by History Commons (formerly known as Accessible Archives). Compare news coverage between the North and South. Features The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, and Richmond Enquirer plus additional titles.

Digital archive of the F&M College student newspaper, which began in print as College Days in 1873. Currently covers the time period from 1873 through February 2011. More recent issues (2014-current) can be found here.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol. This database includes more than consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. Click here to view Supplements.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801-1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the 19th century. Click here to view Supplements.

Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Click here for access.

Access to Harper's Weekly during the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Provides both text and image searching capabilities.

Formerly known as Accessible Archives. Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals. Includes Godey's Ladies Book (1830-1880), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.

Offers current and recent articles and full page images. Access also includes searchable full text, complete archives dating back to 1797. Note that users must access the archives content via the Archives page (click Archives, then Read Archives) on the lancasteronline.com website. Covers 1797 to the present.

Documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. Contains full-text transcriptions of articles, advertisements and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution. Provided by History Commons (formerly known as Accessible Archives).

Historical access to the New York Times (1851-2015), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003). Also features recent issues of the New York Times (2008- two months ago) and Wall Street Journal (2008- two months ago).

This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.