Search Discover to find books, articles & more. You can also place a hold or request a scan
To request books that the College Library does not own, use EZBorrow.
To request articles (and books) that the College Library does not own, use Interlibrary Loan
If you are studying remotely, and the library has a print book you need but you cannot access it, use the Request a Hold/Scan form to request a scan of a few chapters. If you need the whole book, you could indicate that in the notes field and library staff will look into purchasing an ebook version.
Remember that you need to use keywords when searching in library resources. Think about keywords that might be used to describe your topic and brainstorm synonyms for those words to include in your searching as well. Use "" when you want to search multiple terms as a phrase. Keep in mind that the name of your language may be spelled in different ways.
Don't forget to use words like AND, OR, and NOT (boolean operators) between your keywords to broaden or narrow your search. Use quotes to keep phrases together.
Examples of keywords: Your general topic ("ancient peoples", environment, migration, food, etc.); a specific place (Easter Island, Peru, etc.)
Possible synonyms or derivatives: societies, environmentalism, immigration, nutrition, etc.)
Sample search strings:
"ancient peoples" AND environment AND migration
societies OR civilizations AND history AND environment
"indigenous people" NOT "united states" AND knowledge
se Subject Terms (assigned by the Library of Congress) to find like items in the library catalog and in journal databases. If you find a useful book or article, its catalog record usually will include Subject Terms under "Description" that you can use to find related research material. Below is a screenshot of a catalog record with subject hyperlinks. In the actual record, you will be able to click on the links to find related material.
Many databases provide ways for you to limit your search results. If your initial search returns too many results try limiting these results using these features such as limiting by date, type of publication, subject, etc.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
Clarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.