ECO 335: Economic Development
- Library
- LibGuides
- ECO 335: Economic Development
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Online Sources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- United Nations Development ProgrammeUNDP supports countries in their efforts to successfully address diverse development challenges, framed around three broad settings which require different forms of support:
Eradicating poverty in all its forms and dimensions;
Accelerating structural transformations for sustainable development; and
Building resilience to crises and shocks - Human Development ReportsFrom the United Nations Development Programme. This page also provides links to Country Studies and Human Development Indicators.
- World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- OECD CountriesThe Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. There are currently 36 member countries from all regions of the world.
- Organization of American StatesThe OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. In addition, it has granted permanent observer status to 69 states, as well as to the European Union (EU).
The Organization uses a four-pronged approach to effectively implement its essential purposes, based on its main pillars: democracy, human rights, security, and development. - Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - African Development BankThe overarching objective of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
- African Development ReportAn annual study from the African Development Bank Group.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007
