Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
F&M College Library

Archives Services: Home

Visiting

The Archives & Special Collections are available for use by patrons between the hours of 1:00 pm-5:00 pm, Monday through Friday, and by scheduled appointment.

It is recommended that researchers call in advance to confirm current hours or to schedule an appointment. Please visit the Visitor Information page for more information. 

Archives Services

Research

Research assistance for our collections is provided to all visitors of the Archives & Special Collections who abide by the rules for access and use, as well as to persons inquiring by mail, e-mail, or telephone. While every effort is made to assist in answering one's request, we must limit staff time to twenty minutes for outside requests.

For questions regarding the value of your rare book, print, or autograph, please consult our online Value Guides.

Classroom Instruction

Classroom instruction is provided in support of the Franklin & Marshall College curriculum. Faculty members are encouraged to contact the Archives & Special Collections to develop specialized instruction sessions utilizing rare and historic materials.

Reproductions

Material can be photocopied (or, in limited amounts, digitally scanned) for personal research use only. Due to limitations on staff time, as well as wear and tear on the materials, we may not be able to meet all reproduction requests. Contact archives@fandm.edu about any reproduction requests for audio-visual or special format material. For internal, large scale F&M digitization requests, please consult with the staff of the Innovation Zone and/or Instructional and Educational Technologies (IET). 

Additionally, any and all requested material may be protected under U.S. Copyright Law and the department reserves the right to refuse or limit a reproduction request if it appears to be in violation of copyright law regarding fair use. Limited self-service digital camera use may be allowed at the discretion of staff, subject to these same copyright policies or concerns.

Researchers seeking to publish materials or images from the collection in scholarly, educational, or non-profit publications or websites, must fill out a Permission to Use for Publication form provided by the Archives & Special Collections. Permission for the reproduction (either in print or electronically) is on a one-time only, non-exclusive basis and no further use or reproduction is permitted without additional permissions. All determination of copyright ownership and securing appropriate copyright permissions (if applicable) is the responsibility of the researcher.

All commercial or for-profit use is prohibited.

Photocopying & Digital Scanning

There is no charge for copies or scans up to the first 10 pages.

At 11 or more pages, a charge of $.25 per page will begin to accrue.  

At this point, for mailed photocopies, an additional processing charge of $5.00 will be applied for requests with added charges for international postage. 

At this point, for digital scans, a $5.00 processing charge will also be applied. For multiple images or when high resolution scans are required, a Google Drive folder will be created and shared with the patron.

Multiple requests related to the same research project will be considered as a single request. Large reproduction requests of 50 or more pages will be considered on an individual basis. Please contact archives@fandm.edu with any reproduction concerns.

Payment

Payment must be received BEFORE copies/scans are delivered. Checks in $U.S. dollars should be made payable to "Franklin & Marshall College" and mailed to:

Archives & Special Collections
Martin Library of the Sciences
Franklin & Marshall College
P.O. Box 3003
Lancaster, PA 17604-3003

Sorry, we are unable to accept credit cards and e-commerce payment apps at this time.

NOTICE - Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purposes other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. Permission for the reproduction in print of this work or works from the collections (if applicable) is on a one-time only, non-exclusive basis. Franklin & Marshall retains all future rights to reproduction in publication of its collections. However, Franklin & Marshall College does not claim to control the copyrights of all materials in its collections. Users are solely responsible for determining the ownership of copyrights and for obtaining any permissions which may be necessary for the proposed use. By granting permission to publish, Franklin & Marshall College does not assume any liability for infringement of others copyrights and the user agrees to hold the College harmless from any liability.