GOV 327: Latin American Politics
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV 327: Latin American Politics
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Handbooks and Directories
- Amnesty International Report: The State of the World's Human RightsCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .A44 2015-16Publication Date: annual
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JF 2011 .W67 1999ISBN: 0816028745Publication Date: 1999
Online Sources
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- BBC News - Latin AmericaAccess to current news articles on aspects of Latin American politics, society, and culture.
- Congressional Committee HearingsHearings from the House Committee on Foreign Affairs and the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations are especially relevant.
- The future of U.S.- Brazil relations : hearing before the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighteenth Congress, first session, March 15, 2023.An example of a hearing that deals with Latin America.
- Organisation of American StatesThe Organization of American States is the world’s oldest regional organization. The Organization was established in order to achieve among its member states—as stipulated in Article 1 of the Charter—"an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence."
Today, the OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. In addition, it has granted permanent observer status to 69 states, as well as to the European Union (EU). - World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007
