CNX 164: #Science: Engaging the Public

DISCOVER

Selected Books

These noted books are just an example of what might be found for a given topic. In this case, books about communicating science and vaccines are featured. Take a look at book description and table of contents to help brainstorm. And take note of call numbers. Books with similar subjects are shelved together. Get yourself to the stacks and explore!

Writing Science in Plain English by Anne E. Greene
ISBN: 9780226026374
Publication Date: 2013-05-24
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles.
Communicating Science by Nicholas Russell
ISBN: 9780521113830
Publication Date: 2009-10-15
In recent years governments and scientific establishments have been encouraging the development of professional and popular science communication. This book critically examines the origin of this drive to improve communication, and discusses why simply improving scientists' communication skills and understanding of their audiences may not be enough.
Ethics and Practice in Science Communication by Susanna Priest (Editor); Jean Goodwin (Editor); Michael Dahlstrom (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226540603
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
From climate to vaccination, stem-cell research to evolution, scientific work is often the subject of public controversies in which scientists and science communicators find themselves enmeshed. Especially with such hot-button topics, science communication plays vital roles.
Between Hope and Fear by Michael Kinch
ISBN: 9781681777511
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
If you have a child in school, you may have heard stories of long-dormant diseases suddenly reappearing--cases of measles, mumps, rubella, and whooping cough cropping up everywhere from elementary schools to Ivy League universities because a select group of parents refuse to vaccinate their children.

Recommended Resources

These e-resources can be used as a starting point for your research. Use the Ask Us services at right for assistance with any of them.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
An index and full text database featuring subjects such as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Indexing from 1984 to present, full text from 1995 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 300 international English-language business magazines covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers January 1986 to the present.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
JStor This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.