A History of Opera by Call Number: ML1700 .A22 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Opera by Call Number: ML1700 .O916 2014
The Oxford Illustrated History of Opera by Publication Date: 1995
What makes a good research question?
Consider these questions when formulating your research question:
- Do you find the research topic interesting?
- Is your question open ended?
- Can you take a stand on your topic (compare/contrast, problem solve, etc.)?
- Is your topic too broad, too narrow, or okay?
- Will you be able to find the resources to answer your question?
Find Background Informaiton
This is the first place you should search when doing music research. Use it to find background information about your topic, and pay particular attention to the bibliographies at the end of each entry. They can provide you with great sources!
- Oxford Music Online (contains Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. This resource includes: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition, The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarships. F&M subscribes only to the following subject areas: Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, and Music.
Find Books
Sample searches:
Schubert AND "piano concerto" AND (analysis OR criticism OR interpretation)
Schubert AND (society OR culture OR politics OR philosophy)
"elizabethan melancholy"
Recommended Databases
- RILM Music Literature Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOver 200,000 citations for music scholarship describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarships. F&M subscribes only to the following subject areas: Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, and Music.
Librarian
Other Useful Guides
Research Help
 |
 |
 |
 |