CNX 176: Gender and the Sense of Nation in Latin America
A research guide for Carmen Tisnado's students in CNX 176
Using the Library's Resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to the F&M Library here.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowClarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.
Search Tips
Keywords
- Remember that you need to use keywords to search library resources, not natural language.
- Think about various different terms that are or could be used to describe your topic, including synonyms.
- Use "quotes" around multiple terms that you'd like to use as a phrase.
- For example:
- nicaragua AND "sandinista movement"
- peru AND "shining path"
- argentina AND "dirty war"
Boolean Operators
- AND, OR, NOT are used between your keywords to broaden or narrow your search.
- AND will search for both terms.
- OR will search for either one term or the other, but not both.
- NOT will search for one term but not the other.
For example:
- Peru AND (language OR religion)
- Argentina (history NOT religion)
Subject Headings/Terms
- Subject Headings/Terms are controlled phrases assigned to library materials to organize them.
- Use Subject Headings/Terms to find similar items when searching the library catalog and databases.
- For example:
Limiters/Filters
- Many databases provide ways for you to limit your search results.
- If your initial search is too large, consider limiting by date, type of publication, subject, etc.
Reference eResources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFeatures content from reference book formats such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles in subjects ranging from agriculture to philosophy to technology.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowIncludes an expansive range of Sage eBook and eReference content for students, researchers, and faculty. This collection includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, textbooks and more.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference ebooks in the following subject areas: Biography, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, World Literature and Its Times.
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for Books via DISCOVER
If you find a print book in DISCOVER to which we do not have immediate access, click on the button in DISCOVER to request the book from another library.
|
Request from Libraries Worldwide Request from |
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Learn how to connect Google Scholar to the F&M Library here.