Subject Guide
Brainstorming Activity
|
What? What is the topic? What are some related subtopics?
|
Who? Who are the stakeholders involved in this issue?
|
|
How? How are the stakeholders involved? How does this topic impact society, politics, etc.?
|
Why? Why does this topic matter?
|
Finding Scholarly Sources - Background Information
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowPublished in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Covers 1991 to the present. You can view and search across all of our CQ resources here.
- Oxford Reference: Art & Architecture This link opens in a new windowAccess point for 10 dictionaries and "companions" for design, contemporary art, photographs, gardens, and landscape architecture.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFeatures content from reference book formats such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles in subjects ranging from agriculture to philosophy to technology.
Finding Scholarly Sources - Secondary Research
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
- MLA/Modern Language Association International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Features content published from the 1920s to the present.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowAn extensive compilation of literary commentary, representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Features content from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.