News and Opinion Web Sites and Databases
- News Research (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowFeatures a variety of news resources: newspapers, magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blog and web publications, reviews, obituaries, and editorials. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
- New York Times (all access) This link opens in a new windowAll New York Times content: news, games, cooking, audio, newsletters, Wirecutter, The Athletic and more. Covers 1851 to the present.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968- ) This link opens in a new windowOver one million video news segments, with searchable abstracts. The archive includes content from ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox News, CNN, and MSNBC. Covers August 5, 1968, to the present. No current material will be made available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.
- The Economistpolitical articles from a British and European perspective
- National JournalCurrent material only. Archived articles are not included.
- Vox - Mischiefs of Factionpolitical opinion pieces