GOV/WGSS 476: The Politics of Gender
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV/WGSS 476: The Politics of Gender
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Handbooks and Directories
- Europa World Year Book, 2 vols.Call Number: Ref. Desk D2 .E8 2016Publication Date: annualA ready-reference source on every country of the world with a narrative overview and statistical data.
- The Far East and Australasia byCall Number: Ref. DS 1 .F3 2016Publication Date: annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data.
- Middle East and North Africa byCall Number: Ref. DS 49 .M5 2016Publication Date: bi-annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data.
- Africa South of the Sahara byCall Number: Ref. DT 351 .A37 2016Publication Date: annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data.
- South America, Central America, and the Caribbean byCall Number: Ref. F 1408.29 .S69 2016Publication Date: annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data.
- Human Rights Watch World ReportCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .H785 2016Publication Date: annual
- Amnesty International Report: The State of the World's Human RightsCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .A44 2015Publication Date: annual
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JF 2011 .W67 1999ISBN: 0816028745Publication Date: 1999
Online Sources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
Statistics
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA175 .M55 2007ISBN: 9780230005136Publication Date: 2007
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007
