ANT 270: North Pacific Peoples
- Library
- LibGuides
- ANT 270: North Pacific Peoples
- Find Scholarly Articles
Using Keywords & Author Search
Identify the key words that describe your topic and use them to search the library catalog and databases. Make a list of synonyms and search with those, too. Enclose words in "quotation marks" when you want multiple words to express one idea or concept. You can also combine keywords using AND/OR to broaden or narrow your search.
Examples:
The name of your culture or cultures ("Siberian Yupik"; Haida, etc.)
Your specific topic (colonialism, "oral literature", language, etc.)
Synonyms and antonyms of the above or different spellings
Words and phrases taken from the indices of your course books
DISCOVER
Do I Have to Read the Whole Thing?
Key Points from Rosen's article:
- Scholarship is a conversation
- Pay attention to these elements when reading a journal article-
- Title
- Abstract
- Introduction
- Section Headings
- Conclusion
Core Research Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThis resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowClarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowFeatures journal content from a wide variety of subject areas, including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Coverage from as early as 1982.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and related fields. Covers 1983 to the present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.