ECO 281: Political Economy of Africa
- Library
- LibGuides
- ECO 281: Political Economy of Africa
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Handbooks and Directories
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Middle East and North Africa byCall Number: DS 49 .M5Publication Date: bi-annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data. Updated by Europa World Plus.
- Africa South of the Sahara byCall Number: DT 351 .A37Publication Date: annualExtensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data. Updated by Europa World Plus.
- Human Rights Watch World ReportCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .H785 2015Publication Date: annual
- Amnesty International Report: The State of the World's Human RightsCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .A44 2014-15Publication Date: annual
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JF2011 .W67 1999ISBN: 0816028745Publication Date: 1999This set is dated, but still quite useful for recent background information.
Online Sources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- Human Development ReportsFrom the United Nations Development Programme. This page also provides links to Country Studies and Human Development Indicators.
- Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
- World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- African UnionFormerly the Organization of African Unity, its members are 54 countries on the African continent.
- African Development BankThe overarching objective of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction.
- African Development ReportAn annual study from the African Development Bank Group.
- World Development ReportsAll of the reports, on various topics, from 1978 to the present.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007
