CNX 142: Border Crossings

Library Database Search Log

Follow this link and make a copy of the Library Database Search Log.

Recommended search statements for your group of people:

"international students" | "student athletes" | "first generation"

"lower middle class" | "religious minority" | "community college"

Search statements for phrases:

"transition to college" | "adjust* to college" | "social adjust*"

"mental health" | "time management" | "academic prepar*"

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Index to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
ERIC/Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields that combines citations of sponsored reports and over 1000 journals. The ERIC database is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education. Covers 1966 to the present.

Words featured in descriptions of publications that likely indicate empirical research:

For the American Psychological Association (APA) style and examples of citations:

Visit the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) website and navigate using the left-hand side menu.
The College Library also provides direct access to the APA Online Handbook.

For References Page Formatting using the American Sociological Association's style:

Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.

Subjects: Connections 1 Courses