DISCOVER
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Reference materials can be great places to go to find background information when you're just getting started. The library has a large print reference collection, but these two databases also contain a great deal of helpful material.
- GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference ebooks in the following subject areas: Biography, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, World Literature and Its Times.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFeatures content from reference book formats such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles in subjects ranging from agriculture to philosophy to technology.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowIncludes an expansive range of Sage eBook and eReference content for students, researchers, and faculty. This collection includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, textbooks and more.
Recommended Databases
Search in the databases to find scholarly articles on your topic. For search strategies take a look at the "Search Tips" page on this guide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Features article (+ some book) indexing from 1955 to the present.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowClarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.
Connections Workshop Survey
Please fill out this short survey to help us make our workshops as useful as possible!
CLICK HERE to link to the Connections Course Library Workshop Survey.
Thank you for your feedback!
Librarian
Other Useful Research Guides
Research Help
 |
 |
 |
 |