CNX 108: Childbirth and Midwifery
- Library
- LibGuides
- CNX 108: Childbirth and Midwifery
- Scholarly Essays/Articles @ F&M and Beyond
Download/Save PDFs, etc., immediately!
***Download/Save PDFs immediately!***
Do not leave browser tabs open -- or copy/paste the URLs into a document -- database sessions expire!
Indexes/Databases: Access Articles @ F&M and Beyond
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliography of scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.Publication date range: 1955 --
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliography of scholarship on the history and culture of countries excluding the United States and Canada as primary actors. Publication date range: 1955 --
How to Cite: APA Style
The APA Style Guide: via the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) website and the APA Online Handbook.
How to Cite: Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS or just Chicago) via the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Chicago website and the online Chicago Manual of Style.
How to Read Scholarly Articles
Librarians at the City Colleges of Chicago Harold Washington Library created a fabulous guide on How to Read Scholarly Articles. Read the three pages linked below only-- the fourth page is specific to their library!
What is scholarly? Most first-semester first-year college students have never engaged with scholarly publications, such as scholarly journals -- and that's fine! The librarians have no expectation that any of you would have access to such materials in high school.
The Anatomy of a Scholarly Article Learn the common characteristics of scholarly articles published in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Strategies for Reading This page offers helpful tips for reading and understanding scholarly articles.
Peer Review Explained
Video Created by NCSU Libraries.
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.
