ENE 216: Environmental Policy
- Library
- LibGuides
- ENE 216: Environmental Policy
- News Sources and Web Sites
Current News
- Environmental News NetworkENN's mission is to inform, educate, enable and create a platform for global environmental action.
- Center for International Earth Science Information NetworkCIESIN’s mission is to provide access to and enhance the use of information worldwide, advancing understanding of human interactions in the environment and serving the needs of science and public and private decision making.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: The New York Times (1980- present), The Wall Street Journal (1984- present), The Washington Post (1987- present), The Los Angeles Times (1985- present), and The Chicago Tribune (1985- present).
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to major U.S. and international newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Philadelphia Daily News, The Chicago Sun-Times, and local Lancaster newspapers. Also includes newswires, transcripts, and U.S. small town newspapers. Coverage varies per title, with some dating back 50 years.
- New York Times (all access) This link opens in a new windowAll New York Times content: news, games, cooking, audio, newsletters, Wirecutter, The Athletic and more. Covers 1851 to the present.
Environmental Web Sites
- Environmental Protection AgencyEspecially useful here are the tabs for Environmental Topics and Laws & Regulations.
- Fifth National Climate AssessmentReleased in 2023, the National Climate Assessment (NCA) assesses the science of climate change and variability and its impacts across the United States, now and throughout this century.
- U. S. Global Change Research ProgramWhile the focus here is on climate change in the United States, there is some discussion of the world-wide impact.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- Center for Climate and Energy SolutionsLaunched in 2011, C2ES is the successor to the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, long recognized in the United States and abroad as an influential and pragmatic voice on climate issues.
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)Links to news items, conferences, reports, and more.
- Global Resource Information DatabasePart of UNEP, this resource provides environmental data and information for decision-making and policy setting; underpins UNEP's ongoing review of environmental state and trends; and provides early warnings about emerging environmental problems and threats.
- International Institute for Sustainable DevelopmentThis page takes you to the coverage of biodiversity and wildlife.
- Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)This international environmental advocacy group provides information and reports on current issues.