GOV 326: African Politics
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV 326: African Politics
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Handbooks and Directories
New Encyclopedia of Africa, 5 vols.Call Number: Ref. DT 2 .N48 2008ISBN: 9780684314549Publication Date: 2008
Africa South of the Sahara by
Call Number: Ref. DT 351 .A37 2018
Extensive profiles on the recent history, politics, and economics of the countries in this region. Also contains key statistical data. Older volumes are in the general stacks. Updated by Europa World Plus.
Historical Dictionary of the Sudan by Call Number: Ref. DT 155.3 .V64 2013ISBN: 9780810861800Publication Date: 2013This is one of many historical dictionaries available for the countries of Africa. Also available as an ebook.- Amnesty International Report: The State of the World's Human RightsCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .A44 2015-16Publication Date: annual
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JF 2011 .W67 1999ISBN: 0816028745Publication Date: 1999
Online Sources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- BBC News - AfricaAccess to current news articles on all aspects of African politics, society, culture, and the economy.
- Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
- African Development BankProvides economic reports on individual countries and selective topics.
- World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- African Elections DatabaseDetailed data on recent elections for all countries in Africa south of the Sahara.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007
