GOV 101: Power and Politics
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV 101: Power and Politics
- Find Information on Countries and Regions
Handbooks and Directories
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- World Development ReportAn annual publication from the World Bank. Each volume deals with a specific topic. The 2019 report is on The Changing Nature of Work.
Older print volumes can be found at HC 59.7 .W659.
Online Resources and International Organizations
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - USAIDThe US Agency for International Development is primarily responsible for administering civilian foreign aid to other countries.
- Country Studies (by the Library of Congress)Book-length reports on 101 countries, with updated country profiles. The library owns the print copies of most of these reports.
- World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- Global Health Observaotry DataFrom the WHO, the Observatory provides data and fact sheets for a variety of health topics. Covers all countries of the world.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionPart of the US Health and Human Services Department
- Organization of American StatesThe OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. The Organization uses a four-pronged approach to effectively implement its essential purposes, based on its main pillars: democracy, human rights, security, and development.
- United Nations Human Rights CouncilThis organization is the successor to the UN Commission on Human Rights.
- UNHCR - United Nations High Commissioner for RefugeesThe United Nations Refugee Agency, founded in 1950.
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
- African Elections DatabaseDetailed data on recent elections for all countries in Africa south of the Sahara.
- OECD Development pageThe Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all
- Quality of Government InstituteThe main objective of our research is to address the theoretical and empirical problem of how political institutions of high quality can be created and maintained. A second objective is to study the effects of Quality of Government on a number of policy areas, such as health, the environment, social policy, and poverty. We approach these problems from a variety of different theoretical and methodological angles.
- World Income Inequality DatabasePart of the United Nations University, the World Income Inequality Database (WIID) presents information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. It provides the most comprehensive set of income inequality statistics available and can be downloaded for free.
WIID4, released in December 2018, covers 189 countries (including historical entities), with over 11,000 data points in total. With the current version, the latest observations now reach the year 2017.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.
- United Nations Statistical DivisionProvides links to data reports and annual statistical publications.
- Sustainable Development Goals IndicatorsFrom the UN Statistical Division, this site provides data for 17 specific goals.
International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA175 .M55 2007ISBN: 9780230005136Publication Date: 2007
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 1107 .M5 2007ISBN: 0230005144Publication Date: 2007
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Ref. HA 4675 .M553 2007ISBN: 9780230005150Publication Date: 2007- UN Statistical YearbookCall Number: Oversize HA 12.5 .U63 (level 2)Publication Date: various datesRecent volumes are available as ebooks.
