Comparative Literary Studies Research Guide

• WorldCat

WorldCat is a catalog featuring holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide.

• Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

The CRL Catalog is the online catalog of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. It focuses on hard-to-find materials including: archival materials, newspapers and periodicals (foreign & domestic, specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, U.S. state documents, US and foreign academic publications.

• HathiTrust Digital Library

A digital archive that contains collections of major research institutions and libraries.

• Early English Books Online

Early European books contains printed European book collections from the origins of printing through the close of the seventeenth century. The collection builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and focuses on non-Anglophone materials; however, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from Early European Books where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture. Full-color, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources.

• French National Library - Gallica
• Digital Public Library of America
• Wellcome Library Digitized Collections

The Wellcome Library provides access to many of their resources in digitized format, including early modern literary texts.

By country and period:

• German literature--1500-1700

• Spanish literature--Classic period, 1500-1700

• Japanese literature--1945-1989--Criticism and interpretation

• French literature--History and criticism

• Russian literature--History and criticism

• English literature--19th century

By genre:

• English poetry

• German fiction

• Brazilian drama

• Theater--China

• Latin American essays

• Picaresque literature

• Novel

• Drama

• Fiction

• Fairy tales

• Folk literature

• Poetry--Russia

• Prose literature

• Comic books, strips

• Children's literature, German

• French diaries

By movement:

• Romanticism

• Baroque

By individual author's name:

• Jonson, Ben

• King, Stephen

• Wolf, Christa

By individual literary work:

• Zola, Emile, 1840 -1902.  Germinal

Thematic:

• Plots

• Semiotics and literature

• Women and literature

• Intertextuality

• Ireland in literature

• Doubles in literature

• Satires

• Coplas

Background information:

• Spain--Social Life and Customs

• France--Civilization

• United States--Intellectual Life--18th century