DISCOVER
If you find a physical item in the collection that you would like to use be sure to note:
- The Availability: if it's checked out you can request it from another library!
- The Library: is it in Shad or Martin?
- The Title: for example - The Horror Film
- The Call Number: for example - PN1995.9 .H6 H667 2004
Recommended Databases
Search in the databases to find scholarly articles on your topic. For search strategies take a look at the "Search Tips" page on this guide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowClarivate Analytics' premier citation databases in the sciences (physical, life and social) and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite a known author or work or by standard search queries. Covers 1864 to the present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe American Psychological Association's index to journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields. Includes indexing from
Psychological Abstracts. Covers 1840 to the present. - Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Covers publications produced 1914 - present.
Peer Review Explained
Video created by NCSU Libraries.
Librarian
Other Useful Research Guides
Connections Workshop Survey
Please fill out this short survey to help us make our workshops as useful as possible!
CLICK HERE to link to the Connections Course Library Workshop Survey.
Thank you for your feedback!
Research Help
 |
 |
 |
 |