CNX 179: Music and Environment
- Library
- LibGuides
- CNX 179: Music and Environment
- Find Scholarly Articles
Branches of Knowledge
The Humanities: those branches of knowledge that concern themselves with human beings and their culture or with analytic and critical methods of inquiry derived from an appreciation of human values and of the unique ability of the human spirit to express itself. The humanities include the study of all languages and literatures, the arts, history, religion, and philosophy.
The Social Sciences: any branch of academic study or science that deals with human behaviour in its social and cultural aspects. Usually included within the social sciences are cultural (or social) anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science, and economics.
The Sciences: any system of knowledge that is concerned with the physical world and its phenomena and that entails unbiased observations and systematic experimentation. The physical sciences study the inorganic world and comprise the fields of astronomy, physics, chemistry, and the Earth sciences. The biological sciences such as biology and medicine study the organic world of life and its processes.
--from Encyclopedia Britannica, accessed on September 26, 2022
F&M Subscribed Specialized Databases in the Humanities
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowDefinitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, and also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for religious and theological studies, providing citations for journal articles, essays, chapters, books, book reviews, etc., covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Produced by the American Theological Library Association/ATLA. Covers from 1949 to the present.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Covers publications produced 1914 - present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Features article (+ some book) indexing from 1955 to the present.
- MLA/Modern Language Association International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of articles, book chapters and essays in literature, languages, and folklore. Features content published from the 1920s to the present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly database covering books and journals published in all major fields of philosophy since 1940.
- RILM Music Literature Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOver 200,000 citations for music scholarship describing books, articles, and dissertations. Produced by the Repertoire Internationale de Litterature Musicale. Covers 1967 to the present.
F&M Subscribed Specialized Databases in the Social Sciences
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThis resource is the combination of Anthropology Index and Anthropological Literature. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers over 2500 journals, 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWorld's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Covers marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily.
- EconLit (Economics Literature) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, international, partially annotated bibliography of economics literature. Indexes over 300 journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and collective volumes. Covers 1969 to the present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe American Psychological Association's index to journals, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and related fields. Includes indexing from
Psychological Abstracts. Covers 1840 to the present. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Publications from 1952 - present.
EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.
F&M Subscribed Specialized Databases in the Sciences
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications This link opens in a new windowProvides articles from select, subscribed ACS journals. Articles appear online anywhere from two weeks to three months before the article is available in print.
- Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service This link opens in a new windowAbstracting service offering a search interface into the scientific and technical literature covering astronomy, planetary science, physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers 1926 to the present.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowEncompassing both Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, this index is the most comprehensive in the discipline. Covers 1940 to the present.
- Physical Review Online Archives (PROLA) This link opens in a new windowAccess the full text of Physical Review Sections A-E , Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics
and Physical Review Special Topics. Covers 1893 to the present.