Menu
The full inventory of this collection can be found in ArchivesSpace at the link below. Maps are categorized by region or subject.
Map Collection
Additional maps and atlases are located in Special Collections and may be found in the library catalog.
The Map Collection consists of engraved or lithographic maps of Europe, Africa and North America published mainly in the 18th and 19th centuries (with a few from the 17th and 20th centuries). Many of these maps were, unfortunately, removed from period publications for their colorful, detailed plates. Nevertheless, they provide valuable historical information and a glimpse into how past peoples viewed their own world. The collection contains not only geographical maps but those that are genealogical, chronological, military, celestial, geopolitical and meteorological in perspective.
The full inventory of this collection can be found in ArchivesSpace at the link below.
The Prints Collection
This collection consists of 18th and 19th-century engraved and lithographic prints depicting American and European historical events, rural and urban landscapes, landmarks, and prominent persons as well as allegorical, religious, satirical and genre scenes. The collection contains illustrations derived from period publications, those issued as affordable art works by period printers (often reproduced from an original painting or sketch), and those issued as commemoratives or decorative certificates.
Newspapers Collection
This collection consists of English-Language newspapers and periodicals published mostly in the United States from 1776 to 1898. The nature of the publications vary from those of a religious/missionary character to ones with partisan political, literary, cultural, business or general news viewpoints. They are in both bound and single-issue formats and are weekly publications unless otherwise noted.
In addition to the newspapers listed here, 18th through 21st century Lancaster City and County, PA newspapers can be accessed in the library on microfilm and/or electronically (with some limitations to non-College related users). College newspapers from 1873-2011 can be accessed from this link.
Photograph Collection
Photograph collections held in Special Collections include miscellaneous local photographs not directly related to the College. This small collection includes individual or family collections, such as carte-de-visite albums, and photographs documenting American history and life in the United States.
