This guide is created for SPA 371: Spanish for Health Professions
Here you will find suggestions on how to conduct research for your literature reviews including searching the library catalog for books and articles, how to search within databases, how to evaluate resources, and the purpose of a literature review.
The library catalog and library resources are available off-campus, but may require you to login with your net-id and password to access some material.
Please contact me if you have any questions!
DISCOVER
Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- Medline (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Provides access to over 12 million citations back to 1950 in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIndex to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Covers 1900 to the present.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. NOTE: F&M does not have immediate access to all of the articles you will find here.
- JSTORThousands of downloadable articles from journals in more than 45 disciplines.
Additional Resources
- Office of Minority Health, US Department of Health and Human ServicesThe Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
- City Health DashboardNYU’s School of Medicine Department of Population Health. You can look at the data for a neighborhood/city - life expectancy, park access, children in poverty. Provides demographics of some metrics.
- Healthy People 2030Public health objectives from the US Dept of Health and Human Services. Data for objectives can be broken down by demographic group.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services InitiativeFrom the Office of Behavioral Health Equity - This page focuses on the Hispanic and Latinx-American community. Provides data and reports on mental health and substance use for diverse populations.
Books
- Medical Spanish for nurses : a self-teaching guideeBook available at F&M
- Medical cultures of the Early modern Spanish empireeBook available at F&M
