Legacy of Slavery @ F&M Study Group
A central location for research suggestions, relevant databases, and library resources to aid in the efforts of the Legacy of Slavery @ F&M Study Group.
- Library
- LibGuides
- Legacy of Slavery @ F&M Study Group
- College History
College History
Please note: early Board of Trustee minutes are available in the College Archives & Special Collections IN PERSON ONLY. Please contact archives@fandm.edu to make an appointment to view them.
_______________________
Liberalizing the Mind by
With its roots in the German Reformed denomination of Protestantism, Franklin & Marshall College has the distinction of being the first institution of higher learning in America founded (in 1787) for the purpose of educating students of German ethnic background. Liberalizing the Mind is a comprehensive narrative history of Franklin & Marshall College's transformation from that tiny classical college for German American students into one of the nation's preeminent liberal arts institutions. It combines analysis of historical context and institutional development with richly detailed accounts of dramatic periods such as the Civil War and the rebellious 1960s.
Call Number: LD1871 .F22 G75 2010ISBN: 9780271037233Publication Date: 2010-07-06
- F&M History Publications CollectionThe F&M History Publications Collection provides access to resources related to the history of Franklin and Marshall College. The collection includes books published between 1918 and 1987 providing information about Franklin College, Marshall College, Franklin and Marshall Academy, and the Harbaugh Club at Franklin and Marshall College. It also includes a book and film documenting the history of coeducation at F&M published and produced as part of the anniversary celebration "40 years of coeducation: the legacy of women at F&M."
- Franklin & Marshall College Catalog of Officers and Students: 1787-1903Published by the Franklin & Marshall College Alumni Association in 1903.
- History of Franklin & Marshall CollegePublished by Franklin & Marshall College Alumni Association in 1907.
General Archives Resources
- College Library: Archival HoldingsDiscover unique and rare materials held by Franklin and Marshall College Archives and Special Collections. College Archives record groups consist of administrative records created throughout the history of the College, College publications, and more! Special collections include the records of local organizations, personal papers, and collections of unique material assembled by donors. Search across all records or explore by Repository, Collection, Subject, and Name.
- College Library: Scholar's SquareScholar's Square is the College Library's digital repository, and holds a variety of collections on College history, College scholarship, special collections, and visual resources.
Path to Old Main, circa 1892.