Citation & Evaluation Guide

Archives (primary sources)
Books (single author)
Books (multi-author)
Book Article (anthology or reference book)
Footnotes
Government Publications
Images
Journal Article
Newspaper Article
Parenthetical Documentation
Video (DVDs or VHS tapes)
Website (authored, native print)
Website (unauthored, native web)
Website (authored, native web w/ print publication)
Website (periodical publication in online database)

---

Archives (primary sources)

MLA style

Manuscript collection

Franklin and Marshall College, Archives and Special Collections.
Reynolds Family Papers. MS Group 06, Series X.

Archives collection

Office of the President, Keith Spalding. Record Group 05/11.
Franklin and Marshall College, Archives and Special Collections, Lancaster, PA.

Archives folder

Science Building (Stahr Hall, Stager Hall). Record Group 08/03/01.
Franklin and Marshall College, Archives and Special Collections, Lancaster, PA.

Unpublished manuscript

Smith, John. Diary. ms. Record Group 12/05/02.
Franklin and Marshall College, Archives and Special Collections, Lancaster, PA.

Unpublished letter

Reynolds, John F. Letter to Cate Reynolds. 2 September 1861. Reynolds Family Papers.
Franklin and Marshall College, Archives and Special Collections, Lancaster, PA.

---

Books (single author)

MLA style

Frye, Northrop. Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays.

Princeton: Princeton UP, 1957. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Frye, Northrop. (1957). Anatomy of Criticism:

Four Essays. Princeton: Princeton UP.

Chicago style

Frye, Northrop. 1957. Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays.

Princeton: Princeton UP.

---

Books (multi-author)

MLA style

Bondanella, Peter, and Julia Conaway Bondanella, eds.

Dictionary of Italian Literature. Westport: Greenwood, 1979. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Bondanella, P., & Bondanella, J.C. (1962). Dictionary of Italian Literature.

Westport: Greenwood..

Chicago style

Bondanella, Peter, and Julia Conaway Bondanella. Dictionary of Italian Literature

Westport: Greenwood, 1962.

---

Book Article, anthology or reference book

MLA style

Roberts, Sheila. "A Confined World." World Literature Written in English

24 (1984): 232-38. Rpt. in Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Ed. Dennis Poupard. Vol. 25. Detroit: Gale, 1988. 399-402. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Roberts, S. (1984). A Confined World. In Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

(Vol. 25, pp. 399-402). Detroit: Gale.

Chicago style

Roberts, S. (1984). "A Confined World." In Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

(Vol. 25, pp. 399-402). Detroit: Gale.

---

Footnotes

These are examples of different footnotes, as if they were in sequential order. The blue textafterward explains the rationale for that formatting - take note!

1a. Ji-li Jiang, Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution, foreword by David Henry Hwang (New York: HarperCollins, 1997), 21.

Note: First time a source is cited. All information is required, unless you follow the instructions in (4) below.

1b. Peasant Ho as quoted in Ji-li Jiang, Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution, foreword by David Henry Hwang (New York: HarperCollins, 1997), 21.

Note: Example represents how to refer to a quotation lifted from a book or article.

2. Ibid., 35. See also Tariq Ali and Susan Watkins, 1968: Marching in the Streets (New York: Free Press, 1998), 56. The graphic image used in Ali and Watkins' study is especially illustrative of the process described by Jiang.

Note: When a source is immediately repeated, you may use "IBID." If you do not use IBID., skip to (4) below. Please note that IBID. always takes a period. Footnotes also may be used to expand on ideas and to direct readers to sources not necessarily cited in the text, as in this case.

3a. Bertram Gordon, "The Eyes of the Marcher: Paris, May 1968 -- Theory and Its Consequences," in Gerard J. DeGroot, ed., Student Protest: The Sixties and After (London: Addison Wesley Longman, 1998), 39-53.

Note: This is the format for a chapter located in a collection of essays. Since this is the first time the sources is cited, full information is given.

3b. Joann Dimwit, "Raising the Flag," Journal of Inconsequential Studies, 29 (1972), 25.

Note: This citation shows how to refer to an article in a scholarly journal.

4a. Jiang, 57. If you give a complete citation in your bibliography, you may use the short version in your text.

Note: Whenever a source is used again (but not immediately following an earlier citation), you must cite the last name of the author followed by the page number.

4b. Jiang, Red Scarf Girl, 57. Include a shortened title if you use two sources by the same author.

5. JoAnne Fisher, "The Chinese Cultural Revolution," New York Times Magazine, June 1968, 53-72; "Will Mao Stop?," Time, 27 May 1968, 5.

Note: These are the proper formats for newspapers and magazine articles.

6. Lecture notes from presentation by Prof. Eric Zolov, 20 January, 2000. Franklin & Marshall College.

Note: This is the format for class notes or other public presentations.

7. Quoted from the video, The Legacy of Mao (Boston: WGBH Productions, 1997). See also the Hollywood production dealing with Vietnam, Full Metal Jacket (Dir. Oliver Stone, 1987).

Note: This is the format for video and films.

8. Harvey Wallbanger (Prof. of History, Franklin & Marshall College), interview by author, tape recording [or notes from conversation"], Lancaster, PA, 15 March 2000.

Note: This is the format for oral interviews.

---

Government Publications

MLA style

Congressional Record Vol LV, Part 4 (65th Congress) Washington DC:

Government Printing Office, 1917. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

National Institute of Mental Health. (1990). Clinical training in serious mental

illness (DHHS Publication No. ADM 90-1679). Washington, DC: U.S.

Government Printing Office.

---

Images

MLA*

ORIGINAL WORK OF ART OR ARCHITECTURE

Sloan, John. Three A.M. 1909. Oil on canvas. Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia.

Wright, Frank Lloyd. Hollyhock House. 1920-1921. Los Angeles.

IMAGE FOUND ON A WEB SITE

Sloan, John. Three A.M. 1909. Philadelphia Museum of Art. Web. 14 Sept. 2010.

IMAGE FOUND IN AN IMAGE DATABASE

Carr, Emily. Blunden Harbour. c. 1930. National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa. ARTstor. Web. 14 Sept. 2010.

Loengard, John. Anthropologist Dr. Margaret Mead studying a decorated Tchambul skull (probably at American Museum of

Natural History). 1968. LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Web. 15 Sept. 2010.

IMAGE FOUND IN A BOOK

Henri, Robert. The Art Student (Miss Josephine Nivison). 1906. Milwaukee Art Museum, Milwaukee. Picturing the City: Urban

Vision and the Ashcan School. By Rebecca Zurier. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2006. Plate 7. Print.

MAP OR CHART

"United Nations General Assembly Partition Plan, 1947." Map. The Middle East. By Ellen Lust. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press,

2011. 252. Print

"How Much Oil is on the Gulf Coast." Map. nytimes.com. The New York Times, 7 Aug. 2010. Web. 15 Sept. 2010.

*If the date of the art or architecture is unknown, write N.d.

APA

ORIGINAL WORK OF ART

Sloan, J. (Artist). (1909). Three A.M. [Painting]. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Philadelphia Museum of Art.

IMAGE FOUND ONLINE

Sloan, J. (Artist). (1909). Three A.M. [Image of painting]. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Philadelphia Museum of Art. Retrieved September 15, 2010, from http://www.philamuseum.org/collections/permanent/49982.html?mulR=309

IMAGE FOUND IN A BOOK

Henri, R. (Artist). (1909). The Art Student (Miss Josephine Nivison) [Painting]. Milwaukee Art Museum, Milwaukee. Picturing the City: Urban Vision and the Ashcan School. By Rebecca Zurier. Berkeley: University of California Press. Plate 7.

MAP OR CHART

How Much Oil is on the Gulf Coast [Map]. (2010). Retrieved from The New York Timess website: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/05/27/us/20100527-oil-Landfall.html?ref-politics

CHICAGO

ORIGINAL WORK OF ART

Note:

48. John Sloan. Three A.M., oil on canvas, 1909, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia, PA.

Bibliographic entry:

Sloan, John. Three A.M. Oil on canvas, 1909. Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia, PA.

IMAGE FOUND ONLINE

Note:

48. Emily Carr, Blunden Harbour, National Gallery of Canada, ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org.

Bibliographic entry:

Carr, Emily. Blunden Harbour. National Gallery of Canada. Artstor. http://www.artstor.org/.

IMAGE FOUND IN A BOOK

Note:

48. Robert Henri, The Art Student (Miss Josephine Nivison), in Picturing the City: Urban Vision and the Ashcan School,

by Rebecca Zurier (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2006), Plate 7.

Bibliographic entry:

Henri, Robert. The Art Student (Miss Josephine Nivison). In Picturing the City: Urban Vision and the Ashcan School, by Rebecca

Zurier, Plate 7. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2006.

MAP OR CHART

United Nations General Assembly Partition Plan, 1947 [map]. Scale not given. In: Ellen Lust. The Middle East. Washington,

D.C.: CQ Press, 2011, p. 252.

How Much Oil is on the Gulf Coast [map]. Scale not given. "The New York Times." 7 August 2010. nytimes.com. (15 September

2010).

---

Journal Article

MLA style

Monk, Patricia. "Frankenstein's Daughters: The Problems of the Feminine

Image in Science Fiction." Mosaic 13.3-4 (1980): 15-27. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Monk, P. (1980). Frankenstein's Daughters: The Problems of the Feminine

Image in Science Fiction. Mosaic, 13.3-4, 15-27.

Chicago style

Monk, Patricia. 1980. Frankenstein's Daughters: The Problems of the Feminine

Image in Science Fiction. Mosaic 13.3-4:15-27.

---

Newspaper Article

MLA style

Dalin, Damon. "A $7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen To The Melody It Will Play For You."

Wall Street Journal 10 May 1983, Eastern ed.: D37. Print.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Dalin, D. (1983, May 10). A $7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen To The Melody It Will Play For You.

Wall Street Journal, pp. 1, 25.

Chicago style

Damon Dalin, "A $7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen To The Melody It Will Play For You."

The Wall Street Journal, May 10, 1983.

---

Parenthetical Citation

References in the text must clearly point to specific sources in the list of works cited. The information in your parenthetical references in the text must match the corresponding information in the entries in your lists of works cited. To avoid interrupting the flow of your writing, place the parenthetical reference where a pause would naturally occur (preferably at the end of a sentence), as near as possible to the material documented.

Author's name in text

MLA style

Tannen has argued this point (178-85).
You only need to indicate page numbers, since the author's name appears in the text.

APA style

Tannen (1994) has argued this point.
Date of publication is placed after author's name.

Chicago style

Tannen (1994) has argued this point.
Date of publication is placed after author's name.

Author's name in list of works cited

MLA style

This point has already been argued (Tannen 178-85).
Author's name and page numbers are placed at the end of the attributed text.

APA style

This point has already been argued (Tannen, 1994).
Author's name and publication date (separated by a comma) are placed at the end of the attributed text. Omit year from subsequent citations after first citation within paragraph.

Chicago style

This point has already been argued (Tannen 1994).
Author's name and publication date are placed at the end of the attributed text.

Multiple authors' names in text

MLA style

Others, like Jakobson and Waugh (210-15), hold the opposite point of view.

APA style

Others, like Jakobson and Waugh (1978), hold the opposite point of view.

Multiple authors' names in list of works cited

MLA style

Others hold the opposite point of view (e.g., Jakobson and Waugh 210-15).

APA style

Others hold the opposite point of view (Jakobson & Waugh, 1978).

Chicago style

Others hold the opposite point of view (Jakobson and Waugh 1978).

Citing two or more works by the same author or authors

MLA style

Shakespeare's King Lear has been called a "comedy of the grotesque" (Frye, Anatomy 237).
The book title (underlined) or journal article (in quotes) is provided. If there is no author, then only the book title or journal article would appear.

APA style

Shakespeare's King Lear has been called a "comedy of the grotesque" (Frye, 1982, p. 237).
Include page numbers if only specific parts of a publication are used. If there is no author, then only the book title or journal article would appear, example, (Anatomy, 237)

---

Video (DVDs or VHS tapes)

MLA style

A film entry usually begins with the title (italicized) and includes the director, the distributor and the year of release. You may include other data that seem pertinent - such as the names of the writer, performers, and producer - between the title and the distributor.

It's a Wonderful Life. Dir. Frank Capra. Perf. James Stewart,

Donna Reed, Lionel Barrymore, and Thomas Mitchell. RKO, 1946. Film.

APA style (must be double-spaced)

Scorsese, M. (Producer), & Lonergan, K. (Writer/Director). (2000).

You can count on me [Motion picture]. United States: Paramount Pictures.

---

Website (authored, native print)

Template:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title or work, as part of larger work."

Title of complete work or site. Name of Organization. Date of document.
Medium. Date of access. .

Example:

Burka, Lauren P. "A Hypertext History of Multi-User Dimensions."

MUD History. 1993. Web. 2 Aug. 1996.
.

---

Website (unauthored, native web)

Template:

"Title or work, as part of larger work." Title of complete work or site.

Name or Organization. Date of document. Medium. Date of access. .

Example:

"Hourly News Summary." National Public Radio. Natl. Public Radio,

20 July 2007. Web. 27 July 2007.

---

Website (authored, native web with print publication data)

Template:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title or work, as part of larger work."

Title of complete print work.vPrint publication data, date.
Title of site. Medium. Date of Access.

Example:

Bierce, Ambrose. "Academy." The Devil's Dictionary. The Collected Works of

Ambrose Bierce. Vol. 7. New York: Neale, 1911. N. pag. The Ambrose
Bierce Project. Web. 15 May, 2008.

---

Website (periodical publication in online database)

Template:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Journal or Newspaper Article." Journal or

Newspaper Name. Date of article. Title of site. Medium. Date of access.

Example:

Kozinn, Allan. "New Works in Many Styles". New York Times.

21 November 1997, sec. E: 26. Lexis-Nexis. Web. 28 July 1999.