BIO 200: Integrative Biology

Course examines how structure and function in multicellular organisms is integrated, and explores how a single cell develops into the complex, integrated systems of an organism in which groups of differentiated cells perform specific tasks

Web of Science is an excellent and comprehensive biology-related database.

Once you have refined your searching in Discover, try your successful search strategy in Web of Science. You can refine searches by adjusting dates, document types, and categories. And you can sort search output by relevance, dates or citations. Citation tracker is a valuable means to gauge article relevance. The selected journals are just a sample of scholarly resources. The Scientific Literature slide show will tell you more about primary literature and peer review.

Selected Journals

The journals listed below have an excellent focus in the areas of plant and animal physiology. Browsing issues may inspire research topics and build context. After you develop your topic, use databases to search these and many more journals.

American Journal of Botany

American Journal of Physiology

Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology: Part A: Comparative Physiology

Comparative Medicine

Current Topics In Developmental Biology

Development

Developmental Biology

Journal Of Experimental Biology

Journal Of Experimental Botany

Journal Of Experimental Zoology: Part A: Ecological Genetics And Physiology

Journal Of General Physiology

Journal Of Physiology

New Phytologist

Oecologia & Functional Ecology

Plant And Cell Physiology

Plant Cell and Environment

Plant Physiology

Suggested Databases

These databases compile information on thousands of journals and millions of articles for easy searching. Databases usually lead you to a citation and an abstract based on your topic.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database covering physical, life, and social sciences Covers 1965 - present Allows you to track the history and progress of an article via citation history.
General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
An index and full text database featuring subjects such as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Indexing from 1984 to present, full text from 1995 to present.
JStor This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of abstracts and articles from over 1500 scholarly journals from many disciplines Covers 1800 - last 4 or 5 years
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.
Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. Covers 1926 to the present.

Scientific Literature

Subject Guide

Andy Gulati

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Foundations of Behavior, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environment, Linguistics, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Science, Technology and Society

Interlibrary Loan

Use EZBorrow (EZB)/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request articles, book chapters, books, and other materials not available at F&M.

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2024 4:07 PM
URL: https://library.fandm.edu/bio200
Print Page

Subjects: Biology