GOV 379: International Organizations
- Library
- LibGuides
- GOV 379: International Organizations
- Find Information on Countries, Regions, and Organizations
Handbooks and Directories
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. An indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Human Rights Watch World ReportCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .H785Publication Date: annual
- Amnesty International Report: The State of the World's Human RightsCall Number: Ref. JC 571 .A44Publication Date: annual
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols. by Call Number: Ref. JF2011 .W67 1999ISBN: 0816028745Publication Date: 1999- The Statesman's YearbookCall Number: Ref. Desk JA 51 .S7Publication Date: annual
- Foreign Relations of the United States byCall Number: JX 233 .A3Publication Date: ongoing, from 1861This series contains declassified memos and reports to and from U. S. embassies and other official documents. Volumes are arranged by countries, regions, or events.
Annual Review of Global Peace Operations by Call Number: Ref. JZ 6374 .C25ISBN: 1588264416Publication Date: annual- Strategic Survey byCall Number: Ref. U 162 .S77 2014Publication Date: annual
- The Military Balance byCall Number: Ref. UA 15 .L65Publication Date: annual
- SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament, and International Security byCall Number: Ref. UA 10 .S69APublication Date: annual
Online Sources
- CIA World Fact BookContains brief profiles of all the nations.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual report prepared by the U. S. Department of State. Contains details of all human rights violations for every nation.
Also available in print at JC 571 .H785. - IMF Country ReportsAn assessment of financial stability for each country of the world, prepared by the International Monetary Fund.
- U. S. Department of StateUse the "Countries and Regions" tab to find reports and other information about individual countries.
- Organization of American StatesThe OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. The Organization uses a four-pronged approach to effectively implement its essential purposes, based on its main pillars: democracy, human rights, security, and development.
- World Trade OrganizationIncludes links to official WTO documents and to the World Trade Report.
- World BankIncludes reports and data on developing nations and global economic issues.
- World Development ReportThe World Bank provides online access to recent reports. A different topic is addressed each year. The 2020 report is on "Trading for Development in the Age of Global Value Chains."
- Freedom HouseIncludes online access to the annual "Freedom in the World" reports.
- Center for Systemic PeaceFormed in 1997 to provide research on the problem of political violence, the CSP site has links to reports and data. Especially useful are datasets on armed conflict, regime authority characteristics, and the state fragility index. Publications in the Virtual Library include an occasional Global Report.
Statistics
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowA standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Covers 1948 to the present.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA data source that includes information on the global economy, finance, gender, education, health, natural resources, and environmental indicators. This resource, published by the World Bank, contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the latest compiled for over 200 countries as well as 18 country groups. Databases include: World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, and Millennium Development Goals.