CNX197: Entertaining Violence
A guide for students in Professor Eitzen's CNX197 course, Entertaining Violence.
- Library
- LibGuides
- CNX197: Entertaining Violence
- Library Databases
Start Your Research
Looking for resources for your bibliography? Check out the following databases using the keywords you constructed in class:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JStor This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text articles from over 3000 scholarly journals, many dating from the nineteenth-century to the last 4 or 5 years. A growing number of titles are available through the current issues, as part of their "Current Scholarship Program". Select Advanced Search to strategically search amongst 45 disciplines. Choose PDF from within JStor to properly view and print articles. For convenience, JStor is now searchable on Facebook.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and eBooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Dates of coverage varies per title.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowArticles and other text materials published in scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio. Covers 1975 to the present.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 300 English-language periodicals covering classical studies, history, literature, performing arts, philosophy, and related fields. Covers 1984 to the present.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Covers publications produced 1914 - present.
Search Tips
Keywords
- Remember that you need to use keywords to search library resources, not natural language.
- Think about various different terms that are or could be used to describe your topic, including synonyms.
- Use "quotes" around multiple terms that you'd like to use as a phrase.
- For example:
- "natural environment" AND business
- "feminist theory" OR feminism
Boolean Operators
- AND, OR, NOT are used between your keywords to broaden or narrow your search.
- AND will search for both terms.
- OR will search for either one term or the other, but not both.
- NOT will search for one term but not the other.
- For example:
- business AND ("natural environment" OR sustainability)
- "feminist theory" NOT economy
Subject Headings/Terms
- Subject Headings/Terms are controlled phrases assigned to library materials to organize them.
- Use Subject Headings/Terms to find similar items when searching the library catalog and databases.
- For example:
- Sustainable development
- Business enterprises -- environmental aspects
- SOCIAL SCIENCE Feminism & Feminist Theory
Limiters/Filters
- Many databases provide ways for you to limit your search results.
- If your initial search is too large, consider limiting by date, type of publication, subject, etc.
