Comprehensive international historical coverage (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Features article (+ some book) indexing from 1955 to the present.
Index to content from core journals in all areas of the social sciences. Provides lists of sources cited, plus publications citing the original article. Also known as SSCI. Publications from 1900 - present.
Encyclopedia of Latin AmericaAuthoritative yet accessible, the four-volume Encyclopedia of Latin America covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day. Each volume focuses on a specific time period in the area's development. The first volume explores prehistory through the achievements of the Incas in the 16th century, and the second volume covers the arrival of the Spanish, colonization, and independence movements until the 1820s. Volume III examines Latin America's search for its own identity from the middle of the 19th century to the start of the 20th, and the fourth volume focuses on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day. Volumes offer in-depth, heavily cross-referenced A-to-Z entries, drawing readers into the histories of ancient civilizations, colonization, celebrated independence leaders, national and regional political debates, and the daily lives and achievements of the many peoples who have occupied the area. Each volume begins with an introduction to the time period, followed by a detailed chronology. A collection of primary source documents at the end of each volume gives a firsthand account of the major developments of the era. A glossary, bibliography, and index in each volume, a cumulative index in Volume IV, and 250 black-and-white images and maps round out this attractive and reliable resource on Latin America. Entries include: Volume I: Amerindians through Foreign Colonization (Prehistory to 1560) Amazon women Clovis culture Christopher Columbus Copán Dyes and dyewoods Huayna Cápac Maize Maya Pirates and piracy Pulque Treaty of Tordesillas Zapotecs. Volume II: From Colonies to Independent Nations (1550s to 1820s) Acapulco Simón Bolívar Cattle Creole Fleets/fleet system Independence of Spanish South America War of Jenkins' Ear Juntas Pueblo Revolt José de San Martín Veracruz. Volume III: Search for National Identity (1820s to 1900) Accessory Transit Company Acre Province Brazilian Anti-Slavery Society Caudillo Centralism Cinco de Mayo Haiti Constitution of 1805 Porfirio Díaz Junta de Información Modernism Old Republic Texas Revolution. Volume IV: The Age of Globalization (1900 to the Present) Acción Comunal Vere Cornwall Bird Cuban missile crisis Vicente Fox Mafia in Cuba National Liberation Movement Operation Uphold Democracy Pan-American Highway Radio and TV Martí Student movement in Mexico. Cross-volume entries include: Agriculture Argentina Art Belize Bogotá Brazil Catholic Church Economy Family Literature Migration Military Music Puerto Rico Trade.
Call Number: REFERENCE ROOM F 1406 .E5155 2010, volumes 1-5
Encyclopedia of Latin American PoliticsIllustrated with maps and photographs, "The Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics" covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry section containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography. An excellent source of current data and basic historical information on Latin American politics, the book is a valuable research tool for high school and college students and interested public library patrons.