This guide has been designed to assist you in conducting research for English 363: Reading Characters in the Atlantic World with Prof. Jaros. The links and tips on these pages will help you find relevant and reliable sources within the College Library's different databases. For help with formatting your citations in MLA or another style, visit our guide to Citing Sources. If you have a question or would like to set up a research appointment, email Chris Barnes at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Searching for books
To find books relevant to your research, go to the College Library homepage and search in DISCOVER. Remember to select the "Books" tab.
Collections of Criticism
Charlotte Temple by Susanna Rowson; Marion L. RustThis Norton Critical Edition is based on the first American edition of 1794. It is accompanied by a detailed introduction, explanatory annotations, and A Note on the Text. An unusually rich "Contexts" section is thematically organized into four parts --"Women in Early America: Intellect, Education, Sexuality," "Reading in Early America," "The American Sentimental," and "Selections from Rowson's Writings"-- and includes works from Rowson's time to our own. Ten illustrations from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are reproduced to further enrich the reading experience."Criticism" collects thirteen insightful assessments of Charlotte Temple spanning four centuries and addressing its central issues. A Chronology of Susanna Rowson's life and works and a Selected Bibliography are also included.
Publication Date: 2010-08-03
The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa, the African, Written by Himself by Olaudah Equiano; Werner SollorsIt is accompanied by an introduction, maps, illustrations, and annotations. "Contexts" provides essential public writings on the autobiography, general and historical background, related travel and scientific literature, other eighteenth-century works by authors of African ancestry, and works debating the slave trade."Criticism" includes six contemporary reviews and nine modern essays on the narrative by Paul Edwards, Charles T. Davis, Houston A. Baker, Jr., Angelo Costanzo, Catherine Obianju Acholonu, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Geraldine Murphy, Adam Potkay, and Robert J. Allison. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are included.
Publication Date: 2000-12-08
A Historical Guide to Edgar Allan Poe by J. Gerald Kennedy (Editor)Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849), son of itinerant actors, holds a secure place in the firmament of history as America's first master of suspense. Displaying scant interest in native scenes or materials, Edgar Allan Poe seems the most un-American of American writers during the era of literary nationalism; yet he was at the same time a pragmatic magazinist, fully engaged in popular culture and intensely concerned with the "republic of letters" in the United States. This Historical Guide contains an introduction that considers the tensions between Poe's "otherworldly" settings and his historically marked representations of violence, as well as a capsule biography situating Poe in his historical context. The subsequent essays in this book cover such topics as Poe and the American Publishing Industry, Poe's Sensationalism, his relationships to gender constructions, and Poe and American Privacy. The volume also includes a bibliographic essay, a chronology of Poe's life, a bibliography, illustrations, and an index.
Publication Date: 2001-01-04
The Cambridge Companion to Edgar Allan Poe by Kevin J. Hayes (Editor)This collection of specially-commissioned essays by experts in the field explores key dimensions of Edgar Allan Poe's work and life. Contributions provide a series of alternative perspectives on one of the most enigmatic and controversial American writers. The essays, specially tailored to the needs of undergraduates, examine all of Poe's major writings, his poetry, short stories and criticism, and place his work in a variety of literary, cultural and political contexts. They situate his imaginative writings in relation to different modes of writing: humor, Gothicism, anti-slavery tracts, science fiction, the detective story, and sentimental fiction. Three chapters examine specific works: The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym, 'The Fall of the House of Usher', 'The Raven', and 'Ulalume'. The volume features a detailed chronology and a comprehensive guide to further reading, and will be of interest to students and scholars alike.
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
Books on course concepts
The Making of the Modern Self by Dror WahrmanToward the end of the eighteenth century, a radical change occurred in notions of self and personal identity. This was a sudden transformation, says Dror Wahrman, and nothing short of a revolution in the understanding of selfhood and of identity categories including race, gender, and class. In this pathbreaking book, he offers a fundamentally new interpretation of this critical turning point in Western history. Wahrman demonstrates this transformation with a fascinating variety of cultural evidence from eighteenth-century England, from theater to beekeeping, fashion to philosophy, art to travel and translations of the classics. He discusses notions of self in the earlier 1700s--what he terms the ancien regime of identity--that seem bizarre, even incomprehensible, to present-day readers. He then examines how this peculiar world came to an abrupt end, and the far-reaching consequences of that change. This unrecognized cultural revolution, the author argues, set the scene for the array of new departures that signaled the onset of Western modernity.
Publication Date: 2006-12-05
Physiognomy and the Meaning of Expression in Nineteenth-Century Culture by Lucy HartleyIn Physiognomy and the Meaning of Expression in Nineteenth-Century Culture, first published in 2001, Lucy Hartley examines the emergence of physiognomy as a form of popular science. Physiognomy posited an understanding of the inner meaning of human character from observations of physical appearances, usually facial expressions. Taking the physiognomical teachings of Johann Caspar Lavater as a starting-point, Hartley considers the extent to which attempts to read the mind and judge character through expression can provide descriptions of human nature. She argues that the writings of Charles Bell, and the Pre-Raphaelites establish the significance of the physiognomical tradition for the study of expression whilst also preparing the ground for the rise of new doctrines for the expression of emotion by Alexander Bain and Herbert Spencer. She then demonstrates how the evolutionary explanation of expression proposed by Spencer and Charles Darwin is both the outcome of the physiognomical tradition and the reason for its dissolution.
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
E-Z Borrow: Books
To request books to which we do not have immediate access use EZBorrow.